Jesus, Messiah
2010-07-24

Saturday morning, having my coffee, and then spending time reflecting on the words of God. Of course the only difference between this day and any other day of the week is that Christi is also home, having her coffee, etc.

So, here goes...



From The Valley of Vision
THE SECOND COMING

O Son of God and Son of Man,

You were incarnate, did suffer, rise, ascend for my sake;
Your departure was not a token of separation but a pledge of return;
Your Word, promises, sacraments, show your death until you come again.
That day is no horror to me,
for your death has redeemed me,
your Spirit fills me,
your love animates me,
your Word governs me.
I have trusted you and you have not betrayed my trust;
waited for you, and not waited in vain.
You will come to raise my body from the dust,
and re-unite it to my soul,
by a wonderful work of infinite power and love, greater than that which bounds the oceans' waters,
ebbs and flows the tides,
keeps the stars in their courses,
and gives life to all creatures.
This corruptible shall put on incorruption,
this mortal, immortality,
this natural body, a spiritual body,
this dishonored body, a glorious body,
this weak body, a body of power.
I triumph now in your promises as I shall do in their performance,
for the head cannot live if the members are dead;
Beyond the grave is resurrection, judgment, acquittal, dominion.
Every event and circumstance of my life will be dealt with -
the sins of my youth, my secret sins,
the sins of abusing you, of disobeying your Word,
the sins of neglecting ministers' admonitions,
the sins of violating my conscience -
all will be judged;
And after judgment, peace and rest, life and service, employment and enjoyment, for your elect.
O God, keep me in this faith,
and ever looking for Christ's return.

Interesting thoughts, as there is much we don't know about heaven. I tend to agree with those that think we will have "work" to do in heaven, though. However...one thing I do not agree with is the "rapture" theory. After years of contemplating opinions on that subject, I have firmly landed in the camp that says that the "rapture" and the second coming happen simultaneously.



From A Musician Looks At the Psalms
PSALM 86:1-7

1 Incline your ear, O LORD, and answer me, for I am poor and needy. 2 Preserve my life, for I am godly; save your servant, who trusts in you--you are my God. 3 Be gracious to me, O Lord, for to you do I cry all the day. 4 Gladden the soul of your servant, for to you, O Lord, do I lift up my soul. 5 For you, O Lord, are good and forgiving, abounding in steadfast love to all who call upon you. 6 Give ear, O LORD, to my prayer; listen to my plea for grace. 7 In the day of my trouble I call upon you, for you answer me.

David never minded admitting his own weaknesses, especially to the Lord. And, "in doing so, demonstrates his strength." Let me stop right here and mention there are those in this world that believe that admitting weakness is wrong. I reject that idea, and agree with the author of this book. The ability to admit weakness is, in fact, a strength. None of us is perfect. We all have weaknesses, and the one who refuses to admit that is a liar and, in fact, somewhat delusional and suspect of being insane.

David isn't just "praying" in these verses. He cries out. He calls. He lifts up his soul. I have a picture of a man (myself, even) standing with hands cupped and raised up, as if holding something invisible in them. Lifting up my soul to the Lord.

Do we question God when we are under intense pressure? Do we become entrenched in anxiety? In the words of the author, "Before long, fear has a firm grip on my soul, and my prayer is more a pathetic whimper than a strong plea."

David does not experience this. Far from a whimper, David calls out to God confidently, expectantly. He doesn't forget to praise God for his steadfast love, goodness and forgiveness, either. He proclaims the Lord's mercy and grace. It is a perfect balance of petition and praise.



From Tabletalk Magazine

This excerpt is from the weekend reading, entitled "Jesus the Messiah," by John P. Sartelle.

Jesus does not ask, "Who do you want Me to be?" Rather, Jesus reveals Himself. He does not call us to create and shape His being, character, or mission. We either fall to our knees before Him as Creator and Redeemer, or we walk away, rejecting His claims. We have tried to craft a middle ground. We have tried to re-image Jesus as we want Him to be. This day, go to the synagogue in Nazareth and listen once more. You must curse Him as a profit monger, you must pity Him as a deluded madman, or you must kneel and submit.



Lord Jesus, I kneel and submit to you and your authority. My life is yours to do with as you please. I will fail you, true, as I have in the past. There will be times when I will walk in a different direction than you want me to. But I will always return, and there I will find you, waiting with open arms, right where I left you. And we will proceed from that point. You speak truth, Lord. You have revealed yourself as you are, and we must not try to modify that. Forgive us for preaching a different gospel than the one you presented. Forgive our "preachers," Lord for forgetting about the blood; for deciding to ignore your blood sacrifice on the cross and instead, only preach love and forgiveness, although how they are going to get to forgiveness without your blood is beyond me! I feel your pull on my soul and my life, Lord, and I will not pull against it. I cannot win this "tug-of-war."

I will call out to you, Father, instead of allowing my anxieties to eat me alive. This is my commitment. This is my covenant. I will not allow fear to grip my soul. I will cry out to you. I will admit my weaknesses. And I will praise you for your love, mercy and grace. I will proclaim out loud your forgiveness. And I will cry out to you in my pain and in my trouble. I will continue to ask you to heal my wife's pain. Not only her physical pain, but her mental anguish, as well. Lead us to a doctor that will do right by her. Better yet, I call out to you to raise up doctors who know you and who will be true healers, with the best interests of the patients in mind, instead of pandering to the insurance companies and drug companies. I know that sounds like a soapbox, Lord, but it's a real pray from the depths of my soul. Our healthcare system is irreparably broken, and our government is powerless to fix it. However, I believe it can be fixed from within by the right people.

Lord Jesus, I await your return with much anticipation. I long for the day when I will be face to face with you; for the day when temptations will no longer be an issue; for the day when I can sing a new song to praise you in heaven. Help me do the work that is prepared for me on this earth.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

PRAY FOR OUR JUDICIARY

(The Supreme Court is in recess.) The Senate Judiciary Committee has approved Elena Kagan to be the fourth female
Justice of the Supreme Court, paving the way for full Senate confirmation in a floor vote.

A federal grand jury in New York has subpoenaed Toyota�s U.S. subsidiaries for documents related to problems with
rods that connect a vehicle�s steering to its front wheels. Hundreds of lawsuits against Toyota are pending.

Pray that the Supreme Court Justices will have a restful and restorative summer recess.



The episode in Nazareth that is mentioned above occurs when Jesus returns to his home synagogue and reads from Isaiah, then proclaims that he is the fulfillment of that prophecy. Let us reconsider the weight of what he said that day and compare it with what we believe about him.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com