Better Is One Day
2010-07-21

After today, I'll be more than halfway through this week of workshops. It seems to be having the opposite effect on me though, than it was supposed to. I'm more frustrated now than I was when I started, but it's more with the state agency than the job search. Turns out that the unemployment people can go into your "Work in Texas" profile and make you change your salary requirements if you haven't found a job yet. And the whole process is so much more complicated than it used to be. I mean...what point is there in requiring a resume for a warehouse worker?? How much education do you need to unload and stack boxes? At the last place I worked, warehouse workers didn't even need to be able to read. All that was necessary was number recognition, because everything was given a "sort code."

Ok. Enough venting. I need to go to my Source before I embark on today's workshops. One of them is on stress management. Yeah. I think I need some of that, alright.



From The Valley of Vision
JESUS MY GLORY

O Lord God,
You have commanded me to believe in Jesus;
and I would flee to no other refuge,
wash in no other fountain,
build on no other foundation,
receive from no other fullness,
rest in no other relief.
His water and blood were not severed in their flow at the cross,
may they never be separated in my creed and experiences;
May I be equally convinced of the guilt and pollution of sin,
feel my need of a prince and savior,
implore of him repentance as well as forgiveness,
love holiness, and be pure in heart,
have the mind of Jesus, and tread in his steps.
Let me not be at my own disposal,
but rejoice that I am under the care of one
who is too wise to err,
too kind to injure,
too tender to crush.
May I scandalize none by my temper and conduct,
but recommend and endear Christ to all around,
bestow good on every one as circumstances permit,
and decline no opportunity of usefulness.
Grant that I may value my substance,
not as the medium of pride and luxury,
but as the means of my support and stewardship.
Help me to guide my affections with discretion,
to owe no many anything,
to be able to give to him that needs,
to feel it my duty and pleasure to be merciful and forgiving,
to show to the world the likeness of Jesus.



From A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen
PSALM 84:8-12

8 O LORD God of hosts, hear my prayer; give ear, O God of Jacob! Selah 9 Behold our shield, O God; look on the face of your anointed! 10 For a day in your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere. I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of wickedness. 11 For the LORD God is a sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor. No good thing does he withhold from those who walk uprightly. 12 O LORD of hosts, blessed is the one who trusts in you!

I believe this Psalm says something about our attitude about service. What do we desire? Do we want to be in the spotlight? Do we want the "exciting jobs?" Would we be bored doing menial tasks? This psalmist, (who, by the way remains anonymous, listed only as "the sons of Korah") desires nothing more than to be the doorkeeper in the dwelling place of God. "A day in your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere." Would we be satisfied being the janitor in the kingdom of God? I would. Know why? "The Lord is pictured as a 'sun and shield.' He offers warmth, blessing, protection, and prosperity. He does not withhold anything good from those whose walk with Him is blameless - 'a spotless walk, conduct ordered according to God's will, and a truth-loving mode of thought.'"




Father, may I always be satisfied to be merely a doorkeeper in your kingdom, if that is what you would have me do. Right now, you have me leading people to worship you; leading people into your presence so that they may focus their attention, their desires completely and utterly on you. While this might seem to some to be a position of great attention, Lord, if I am doing my job right, no one is paying attention to me. I am not entertainment. My goal is to be invisible; to shine the light on you.

Father, I pray that I would flee to no other refuge than Jesus Christ. I pray that I would build on no other foundation; wash in no other fountain than the fountain that is filled with blood. I pray for repentance and forgiveness, for both can only come from you. I find no desire for repentance within myself. I find that it can only come if you grant it. May you always grant repentance to me, Father.

I don't voice this very often, Lord, but today I lift up my job search to you. I still believe that you have one out there for me somewhere, and that, obviously, the time has not come for it. I pray that you help me learn what I'm supposed to be learning during this time. I pray that these opportunities not go to waste.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

THE WAR

Eight American troops were killed this week in a series of attacks in Southern Afghanistan as Taliban militants pushed
back against an effort to secure the volatile region. Suicide attacks, bombings and IED�s are the methods being used.

Overall violence in Iraq has dropped considerably in the past two years, according to Gen. Ray Odierno, who has said
that attacks on military convoys have dropped to a fairly low level, and Al-Qaeda in Iraq is severely downgraded.

Pray for Generals Petraeus and Odierno this week as they �administer� the war efforts in Afghanistan and Iraq.



Let Jesus be your refuge, your fountain, and your foundation. I'll be meditating on that today, as well as the portion of Psalm 84 that was read.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com