The Meek Shall Inherit the Earth
2010-07-17

I wanted to start with something different today. Instead of starting with something about me, I went straight to the Source. Tomorrow is our worship day. I can't wait. Lord help me pick the worship songs that your people need to sing to you!



From The Valley of Vision
FULLNESS IN CHRIST

O God,

You have taught me
that Christ has all fullness and so all plenitude of the Spirit,
that all fullness I lack in myself is in him,
for his people, not for himself alone,
he having perfect knowledge, grace, righteousness,
to make me see,
to give me fullness,
that it is my duty, out of a sense of emptiness, to go to Christ, possess, enjoy his fullness as mine,
as if I had it in myself, because it is for me in him;
that when I do this I am full of the Spirit,
as a fish that has got from the shore to the sea
and has all fullness of waters to move in,
for when faith fills me, then I am full;
that this is the way to be filled with the Spirit, like Stephen, first faith, then fullness,
for this way makes me most empty,
and so most fit for the Spirit to fill.
You have taught me that the finding of this treasure of all grace in the field of Christ begets strength, joy, glory,
and renders all graces alive.
Help me to delight in what I receive from Christ,
more in that fullness which is in him as a 'thing'
apart from finding, drinking, being filled with him.
To this end, O God,
establish me in Christ,
settle me, give me a being there,
assure me with certainty that all this is mine, for this only will fill my heart with joy and peace.



From A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen
PSALM 82:1,8

1 God has taken his place in the divine council; in the midst of the gods he holds judgment:

8 Arise, O God, judge the earth; for you shall inherit all the nations!

God "created justice, equity, and objectivity." He is the Judge of judges. He will judge all the earth. "The nations of the world belong to God, who holds the inhabitants responsible for their ethics and conduct."

"All of this confirms that I am not just a statistic in a cold, indifferent universe, nor merely part of the flow in an environment resulting from chance. I am a human being who fits into God's plans for all eternity. Therefore, I have rare value. Because I am precious to Him, my behavior has significance. I am responsible, so I must learn to live responsibly."

Dang. There's that "R" word. Perhaps I don't stop and think enough about my behavior having significance. Perhaps I should start learning how to live responsibly.



From Matthew Henry Daily Readings
Christian Graces

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. (Matthew 5:3)

"Our Savior here gives eight characters of blessed people, which represent to us the principal graces of a Christian. First, the poor in spirit are happy. These bring their minds to their condition, when it is a low condition. They are humble and lowly in their own eyes. They see their want, bewail their guilt, and thirst after a Redeemer. The kingdom of grace is of such; the kingdom of glory is for them. Second, those that mourn are happy. That godly sorrow which works true repentance, watchfulness, a humble mind, and continual dependence for acceptance on the mercy of God in Christ Jesus, with constant seeking the Holy Spirit, to cleanse away the remaining evil, seems here to be intended. Heaven is the joy of our Lord; a mountain of joy, to which our way is through a vale of tears. Such mourners shall be comforted by their God. Third, the meek are happy. The meek are those who quietly submit to God; who can bear insult; are silent, or return a soft answer; who, in their patience, keep possession of their own souls, when they can scarcely keep possession of anything else. These meek ones are happy, even in this world. Meekness promotes wealth, comfort, and safety, even in this world. Fourth, those who hunger and thirst after righteousness are happy. Righteousness is here put for all spiritual blessings. These are purchased for us by the righteousness of Christ, confirmed by the faithfulness of God. Our desires of spiritual blessings must be earnest. Though all desires for grace are not grace, yet such a desire as this is a desire of God's own raising and he will not forsake the work of his own hands."

Long reading, but I felt that it was all pertinent. I see much need for improvement in my own character in this writing today. Henry will complete the list in tomorrow's reading. Confession: I am anything but meek. "No inheriting the earth for YOU!" Gotta work on that.



From Tabletalk Magazine
Thinking on Pure Things--weekend reading

The author of this devotional, Dr. Kim Riddlebarger, begins with a contrast. He contrasts the wicked mentioned in Psalm 36 with Philippians 4:8. Psalm 36:1-4 says, "1 Transgression speaks to the wicked deep in his heart; there is no fear of God before his eyes. 2 For he flatters himself in his own eyes that his iniquity cannot be found out and hated. 3 The words of his mouth are trouble and deceit; he has ceased to act wisely and do good. 4 He plots trouble while on his bed; he sets himself in a way that is not good; he does not reject evil."

Contrast this with Philippians 4:8, which lists "six specific qualities that were well-known in popular Greek moral philosophy." "These qualities Paul mentions - that which is true, honorable, just, pure, lovely, and commendable - are both good in themselves and beneficial for others, and they stand in sharp contrast to the traits of the nighttime plotter of Psalm 36." Note that Paul considers that he is speaking to fellow Christians, too, because he uses the term "brothers" at the beginning of the verse.

First, they are to think of things that are true. "In other words Christians are not to fill their minds with pagan myths and fables, but they are to frame their thinking in light of the great Christian truth claim: 'In Christ God was reconciling the world to himself' (2 Cor. 5:19)." They were also to think on things that were honorable. This word can also mean "serious" or "dignified." "Christians are to regard holy things with a proper degree of reverence."
Next, Paul lists justice and purity. These two things are closely related, according to the author. Justice is related to God's commands. People who obey God's commandments are acting in a just or upright manner before God and in relationship with their neighbors. Purity refers to "chastity and moral purity," or what we might also refer to as "integrity." "Christians are not to be characterized as those who plot and scheme how to defile themselves and violate the commandments of God; rather, Christians are to consider the consequences of their actions in light of God's law."
Next Paul speaks of things that are lovely. Rather than mean "pretty things," the author says that Paul is "referring to things that reflect love toward others." Speaking and acting graciously and appropriately would be included here, as well as being agreeable (without of course, compromising truth). "To think on things that are commendable is to carefully consider and value things that are intrinsically worthwhile." We should be spending time thinking about things that really matter. I'm thinking that Bejeweled Blitz is not one of those things. Darn.

Paul then sums all this up by calling these things "excellent" and "praiseworthy."

What a great contrast between what Christians should be thinking on and the wicked person described in Psalm 36! Where do I stand? Probably somewhere in the middle. I certainly don't lay awake at night plotting my next evil move. But my mind is cluttered by a lot of things that simply do not matter. I will say, though, that a lot of those things are becoming tiresome to me. I guess that's a good sign.



Father, in an unusual event, every reading today has held some special significance for me, and they all seem to "line up" in what they are telling me. I pray, Father, to be able to think on the things that Paul lists in Philippians 4:8. Help me to shove aside things that don't matter. I don't believe that this is to mean that I never engage in activity that is meaningless. Sometimes our minds need a break. But I am not to be consumed by such things. Lord, direct my spirit to engage my mind in things that matter.

Father, I see so many shortcomings in my character as I read the devotion from Matthew Henry. I am not meek. I do not give "soft answers." I am not patient. I hang my head in shame and sorrow as I realize these things (but I guess that makes me one of the "mourners" listed in the second character). You have given me grace to realize that I am not lining up with your character descriptions. Meekness is the major deficiency. I think I do okay on the other three.

Lord, help me live responsibly. Historically, I detest that word. I don't want to be responsible. I'm like Peter Pan. "I won't grow up!" But I need to. I'm 52 years old. It's time to grow up. Help me understand that, yes, my behavior is significant, because I am precious to you! I have been flippant for too long.

Finally, Lord, let me find my desire in Jesus Christ. "Help me to delight in what I receive from Christ." Help me find that fullness in him!



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

PRAY FOR OUR CONGRESSIONAL LEADERS

The Senate plans to unveil a scaled-back energy bill early next week including renewable energy standards and tax
credits, higher fuel-efficiency requirements, incentives for electric vehicles and new oil drilling regulations.

The Senate Judiciary Committee has issued a one-week postponement for taking up the nomination of Elena Kagan as
the fourth woman Justice of the Supreme court. The confirmation seems all but certain.

Pray that our legislators will set aside partisanship in favor of doing what is right for all Americans.

I would go beyond that to pray that AMERICANS would set aside partisanship in favor of doing what is right for all Americans!



This was a long entry today. But I don't apologize for it, because I believe it was all relevant. I'm not looking forward to the process of God making me meek. I seem to think it might be quite painful. I just pray that I will recognize the tests when they come so I don't fail them miserably.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com