Stop. Hey...What's That Sound?
2010-07-15

Another semi-busy day (at least the morning). Steph has "Champ Camp" at 8:30, and I have to be at an "orientation session" at the Texas Workforce Commission office in Hurst at 9. That will last a little over an hour, and then Steph gets out at 11:30. I hope that the TWC will have some resources that can help me.


From The Valley of Vision
CHRIST THE WORD

My Father,

In a world of created changeable things,
Christ and his Word alone remain unshaken.
O to forsake all creatures,
to rest as a stone on him the foundation,
to abide in him, be borne up by him!
For all my mercies come through Christ,
who has designed, purchased, promised, effected them.
How sweet it is to be near him, the Lamb, filled with holy affections!
When I sin against you, I cross your will, love, life, and have no comforter, no creature, to go to.
My sin is not so much this or that particular evil,
but my continual separation, disunion, distance from you,
and having a loose spirit towards you.
But you have given me a present, Jesus your Son,
as Mediator between yourself and my soul,
as middle-man who in a pit holds both him below and him above,
for only he can span the chasm breached by sin, and satisfy divine justice.
May I always lay hold upon this Mediator, as a realized object of faith,
and alone worthy by his love to bridge the gulf.
Let me know that he is dear to me by his Word;
I am one with him by the Word on his part, and by faith on mine;
If I opposed the Word I oppose my Lord when he is most near;
If I receive the Word I receive my Lord wherein he is nigh.
O you who have the hearts of all men in your hand,
form my heart according to the Word,
according to the image of your Son,
So shall Christ the Word, and his Word, be my strength and comfort.

These prayers continue to tear me apart and put me back together again. They are amazing.



That prayer reminded me for some reason of this:

The most amazing guitar man ever...



From A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen
PSALM 81:8-14

8 Hear, O my people, while I admonish you! O Israel, if you would but listen to me! 9 There shall be no strange god among you; you shall not bow down to a foreign god. 10 I am the LORD your God, who brought you up out of the land of Egypt. Open your mouth wide, and I will fill it. 11 "But my people did not listen to my voice; Israel would not submit to me. 12 So I gave them over to their stubborn hearts, to follow their own counsels. 13 Oh, that my people would listen to me, that Israel would walk in my ways! 14 I would soon subdue their enemies and turn my hand against their foes.

As musicians, we are aware that successful music relies on the active ear of the listener. I, for example, could not stand being a casual singer in a cafe or bar where people are talking while I'm singing and playing. It's not a pride thing or a self-absorbed thing. Rather, it's wanting people to listen to the music. I also don't like music that is specifically designed not to be listened to. For example, elevator music. It's merely background noise. (And c'mon...Led Zeppelin played by strings?? Egad.)

Anyway, back to the topic. In this psalm, God knows that the people are not listening to him. Their ears are not active. He has promised that all they have to do is open their mouths, and he would fill them. But they aren't listening! They would not submit. And then follow what are, in my opinion, the most terrifying words in all of Scripture (they are repeated in Romans 1, as well), "So I gave them over..." He simply allowed them to follow their own desires.

"What Israel missed by refusing to listen is parallel to my own loss if I miss God's cues for my life: freedom from enemies (v. 14), food for the table (v. 16). In fact, if I worship God in an exclusive relationship, I will be abundantly blessed with 'the finest of wheat; with honey from the rock.'"

"How sad that so often I go unrewarded because I don't listen."

How sad, indeed. And I can attest to this, from experience.



Father, I bless you for continuing to speak to me. I pray that you never stop. I will try to be a better listener to your words. I know that, in the past, I have been guilty of not listening. One such tragic event comes to mind most readily. I believe that I forfeited great rewards from that moment. But that moment is many years in the past, too, and today is a new day. I cannot live in the moments of failure. I must press on toward that mark of the high calling in Jesus Christ!. Today, I will listen. Today, I have already listened. I will do what needs to be done, and endeavor to do so with a Christlike attitude.

All I desire right now is to know you, Lord. That is the most important thing.



Listen to God. You will be rewarded if you do. Somehow. You may not know it until much later, but you will see it.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com