Give Thanks With A Grateful Heart
2010-07-13

Going to the doctor in a little bit this morning. Just a routine check-up, I hope. That's the plan, anyway. Basically just need my meds refilled.

Yesterday, I had a rough day. It was just one of those days that was down emotionally. Several things happened during the day that hit me wrong, and it just kind of spiraled from there. These days happen and are unpredictable. Hopefully, today will be better.

At least I'm trying to start it off in the right way.



From The Valley of Vision

PRAISE AND THANKSGIVING

O my God,

Fairest, greatest, first of all objects,
my heart admires, adores, loves you,
for my little vessel is as full as it can be,
and I would pour out all that fullness before you in ceaseless flow.
When I think upon and converse with you
ten thousand delightful thoughts spring up,
ten thousand sources of pleasure are unsealed,
ten thousand refreshing joys spread over my heart,
crowding into every moment of happiness.
I bless you for the soul you have created,
for adorning it, sanctifying it,
though it is fixed in barren soil;
for the body you have given me,
for preserving its strength and vigor,
for providing senses to enjoy delights,
for the ease and freedom of my limbs,
for hands, eyes, ears that do you bidding;
for your royal bounty providing my daily support,
for a full table and overflowing cup,
for appetite, taste, sweetness,
for social joys of relatives and friends,
for ability to serve others,
for a heart that feels sorrows and necessities,
for a mind to care for my fellow-men,
for opportunities of spreading happiness around,
for loved ones in the joys of heaven,
for my own expectation of seeing you clearly.
I love you above the powers of language to express,
for what you are to your creatures.

Increase my love, O my God, through time and eternity.

There is truly so much to be thankful for in our lives!



From A Musician Looks At the Psalms

Psalm 80:16-19

16 They have burned it with fire; they have cut it down; may they perish at the rebuke of your face! 17 But let your hand be on the man of your right hand, the son of man whom you have made strong for yourself! 18 Then we shall not turn back from you; give us life, and we will call upon your name! 19 Restore us, O LORD God of hosts! Let your face shine, that we may be saved!

Israel is depicted as a vine, but the vine has withered and been burned. It has been cut down by enemies. But once again, Asaph calls for restoration and promises faithfulness.

"I need to remember that prosperity finds its genesis in the Lord. Secular success, apart from God's hand on my life, is a hollow victory. Without His blessing, life has no meaning. I want to be very much aware of how much my personal effectiveness depends on Him."

If I am successful at anything, it is only because my God has granted it.



One brief quote from Matthew Henry Daily Readings, for anyone who doubts their salvation:

"The more we express our sorrow for sin, and our love to Christ, the clearer evidence we have of the forgiveness of our sins."

In other words, if you feel sorrow for your sins, and those sins cause you to doubt your salvation, that is evidence that you are forgiven and covered by his blood. The very fact that you are concerned about it is positive evidence.



Father, I thank you that you have placed within me a concern for my sin, a desire to be holy, and a need for repentance. I see all of these things as evidence that you reside within my by way of your Holy Spirit.

I acknowledge that you are solely responsible for any success that I might experience, any talent that I have, and any wealth and/or blessings that I might possess. Everything I see around me as I sit at this desk is a blessing from you. Let me never forget that as I go about my days.

There is so much in my life to be thankful for, as evidenced by the Puritan prayer above, that kept going on and on with its list of thankfulness. And that list only scratches the surface! I pray, Father, that you would cause me to exercise this thanksgiving more frequently throughout my day, so that I would be constantly aware of what you have given me.

And that list must always begin with thankfulness for my salvation in Jesus Christ.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

PRAY FOR THESE NATIONAL LEADERS IN THE NEWS THIS WEEK:

Karl W. Eikenberry, United States Ambassador to Afghanistan.

John Barrasso, United States Senator, Wyoming.

Judge John M. Roll, Chief Judge, United States District Court for the District of Arizona.

Conrad Whyne, Director, U.S. Army Chemical Materials Agency.



Give thanks today for something. Surely you can find something in your life to praise the Lord for.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com