No Condemnation
2010-07-07

Wednesday morning, getting ready to go on a little trip. We're just going up the road a little ways to Oklahoma (where the wind comes sweeping down the plain). We're spending two nights at Lake Murray and will be taking in Arbuckle Wilderness, as well. But first...the important thing. The main thing.


From The Valley of Vision
DIVINE MERCIES

Eternal God,

Yours is surpassing greatness, unspeakable goodness, super-abundant grace;
I can as soon count the sands of ocean's 'lip' as number your favors towards me;
I know but a part, but that part exceeds all praise.
I thank you for personal mercies,
a measure of health, preservation of body,
comforts of house and home, sufficiency of food and clothing,
continuance of mental powers,
my family, their mutual help and support,
the delights of domestic harmony and peace,
the seats now filled that might have been vacant,
my country, church, Bible, faith.
But, O, how I mourn my sin, ingratitude, vileness,
the days that add to my guilt,
the scenes that witness my offending tongue;
All things in heaven, earth, around, within, without, condemn me -
the sun which sees my misdeeds,
the darkness which is light to thee,
the cruel accuser who justly charges me,
the good angels who have been provoked to leave me,
your countenance which scans my secret sins,
your righteous laws, your holy Word,
my sin-soiled conscience, my private and public life,
my neighbors, myself - all write dark things against me.
I deny them not, frame no excuse, but confess, 'Father, I have sinned';
Yet still I live, and fly repenting to your outstretched arms;
you will not cast me off, for Jesus brings me near,
you will not condemn me, for he died in my stead,
you will not mark my mountains of sin, for he leveled all,
and his beauty covers my deformities.
O my God, I bid farewell to sin by clinging to his cross,
hiding in his wounds, and sheltering in his side.

That is so much like the Old Testament Psalms, starting off dreary and hopeless-sounding, but ending up praising God and declaring the safety and forgiveness in Christ. Such beautiful imagery and language.



From A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen
Psalm 78:12,17-18,36-37

12 In the sight of their fathers he performed wonders in the land of Egypt, in the fields of Zoan.

17 Yet they sinned still more against him, rebelling against the Most High in the desert. 18 They tested God in their heart by demanding the food they craved.

36 But they flattered him with their mouths; they lied to him with their tongues. 37 Their heart was not steadfast toward him; they were not faithful to his covenant.

Pretty bleak circumstances in this passage. God performed wonders, but his people kept sinning all the more, continuously rebelling against the "Most High."

Are we not the same? Do we not see the wonders of our God daily, yet willfully disobey him? "Instead of being grateful for God's gracious provision in the wilderness, they griped!" Do we not do the same?

They demanded food. God rained down food on them until they could eat no more. Still, "the children of Israel behaved like spoiled brats. They were negative, critical, and rebellious." But God was merciful. Verse 39, not quoted above, tells us that God "remembered that they were but flesh, a wind that passes and comes not again."

I am but flesh, as well. And who am I to condemn these children of Israel? "I'm as ambivalent as they. The Lord calls me to consistency, but my walk with Him is cluttered with behavioral highs and lows. He asks that I be thankful for unexpected mercies and daily gifts of grace, but I demand more."

Have you ever heard a modern believer say, "Well if I had been there, I would have behaved..." Uhuh. Sure. Then why can't we behave now?



From Matthew Henry Daily Readings
1 Corinthians 10:6

Now these things took place as examples for us, that we might not desire evil as they did.

How timely it is that this reading should follow the previous one!

"Carnal desires gain strength by indulgence, therefore should be checked in their first rise. Let us fear the sins of Israel, if we would shun their plagues.

"Murmuring against God's disposals and commands, greatly provokes him. Nothing in Scripture is written in vain; and it is our wisdom and duty to learn from it. Others have fallen, and so may we.

"God has not promised to keep us from falling, if we do not look to ourselves. To this word of caution, a word of comfort is added. Others have the like burdens, and the like temptations: what they bear up under, and break through, we may also. God is wise as well as faithful, and will make our burdens according to our strength. He knows what we can bear. He will make a way to escape; he will deliver either from the trial itself, or at least the mischief of it. We have full encouragement to flee from sin, and to be faithful to God. We cannot fall to temptation, if we cleave fast to him."

One side note here. I'm hearing a lot of people saying these days, "God won't give you more than you can handle." In fact, I may have said that exact same thing in days gone by. But it's wrong. The Bible never says that. If God never gave us more than we could handle, we wouldn't need him, would we? That statement is a gross misinterpretation of 1 Corinthians 10:13, which says this: No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it. God will not allow us to be tempted beyond our ability. That means there is always a way out when we are being tempted. Perhaps every bit as simple as Nancy Reagan's "Just say no." But idea that "God won't give us more than we can handle..." Not a Biblical concept at all.



My Father, I need your grace in my life. I could not survive without it. I hang my head in shame when I think how I have been as guilty as Israel wandering in the desert. I have griped and complained at times, when I should have been giving you thanks and praise for the wonderful gifts and provisions that you have placed in my life. But that shame lasts only a minute or two, because, along with that, comes the realization that Jesus Christ has taken care of all my sins on the cross. And you have cast my sins as far as the east is from the west and you will remember them no more. So, like the person who wrote the Puritan prayer, I may begin with shame, but I end with glory, because none of that shame is relevant any more! And with that, I shout, "Hallelujah!"

Let me not repeat the sins of Israel. Let me have such a severe distrust of myself that I cling to you with all my might, knowing that, as long as I do so, I cannot fall to temptation. And may I always look for that "way of escape" when I am tempted, rather than looking for a way to act on the temptation. You are faithful. You will make sure that, when I am tempted, there is a way to escape. But it is up to me to find it and utilize it.

I thank you that you do, in fact, sometimes challenge me by giving me more than I can handle. This causes me to lean on you for strength and support. It also causes me to run to your fortress, your strong tower, where I will be safe.

I praise you, Lord, for my family. And here, I'm speaking of my "blood" family. They are such a wonderful place of support and love for me. My wife's support and encouragement for me has never once waned during this time of unemployment. She has kept me going. The innocent love and acceptance of my daughter has brightened each and every day, especially those where I have felt defeated. The love and ongoing acceptance and support of my parents has also been of great value to me. Thank you, Lord.

I thank you, Father, for the Church Family. Never have I found such place were people love each other and pray for each other so faithfully. There is great support in your Family.

I want to lift up a special prayer this morning for a family that lost a precious grandson in an automobile accident. Comfort that family, Lord, in their loss.

I continue to pray for Gina, in her ongoing battle with cancer. I pray for Ms. Larue's continued recovery from her surgeries. I pray for Kathy as she faces more surgery. I pray for Bobby as he is experiencing serious troubles with his broken hand. Our Family has many physical needs, Lord, and I have faith that you will meet them all.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

THE ECONOMY

Toyota withheld information about safety technology on older models, and its outside research firm altered documents
requested in a probe of unintended acceleration, congressional investigators charged this week.

Worries about the global economy and a lack of consumer confidence were among explanations for the drastic plunge
in the Dow. Investors seems to be moving more toward Treasury Bonds.

Pray that our nation does not head into a double-dip recession, but the economic recovery will find some footing.



Be encourage to know that, in all temptations, God provides a way of escape. Cling to him during these times. He will never let go of you. And then rejoice that "There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus." (Romans 8:1)

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com