Make A Joyful Noise To God, All the Earth!
2010-07-01

Late again. Oh, well...as long as I get it done, I guess.

I'll be glad when the Rangers get back to Arlington. One more late night game tonight.



From The Valley of Vision

(From now on, I will adapt these and change the "thees" to "yous," etc. I don't pray with "thees" and "thous.")

GOD THE ALL

O God whose will conquers all,

There is no comfort in anything apart from enjoying you
and being engaged in your service;
You are All in all, and all enjoyments are what to me you make them, and no more.
I am well pleased with your will, whatever it is,
or should be in all respects,
And if you bid me decide for myself in any affair,
I would choose to refer all to you,
for you are infinitely wise and cannot do amiss,
as I am in danger of doing.
I rejoice to think that all things are at your disposal,
and it delights me to leave them there.
Then prayer turns wholly into praise,
and all I can do is to adore and bless you.
What shall I give you for all your benefits?
I am in a strait between two, knowing not what to do;
I long to make some return, but have nothing to offer,
and can only rejoice that you do all,
that none in heaven or on earth shares your honor;
I can of myself do nothing to glorify your blessed name,
but I can through grace cheerfully surrender soul and body to you,
I know that you are the author and finisher of faith,
that the whole work of redemption is yours alone,
that every good work or thought found in me
is the effect of your power and grace,
that your sole motive in working in me to will and to do is for your good pleasure.
O God, it is amazing that men can talk so much
about man's creaturely power and goodness,
when, if you did not hold us back every moment,
we should be devils incarnate.
This, by bitter experience, you have taught me concerning myself.

Once again, the theology in this prayer is deeply astounding. The Lord's sole motive in working in us to will and to do is his "good pleasure!" How people are being led astray by "preachers" who would have them believe that they Lord's primary focus is their happiness! Everything God does is for his glory and for his "good pleasure."



From A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen

Psalm 75:1,9-10
1 We give thanks to you, O God; we give thanks, for your name is near. We recount your wondrous deeds.

9 But I will declare it forever; I will sing praises to the God of Jacob. 10 All the horns of the wicked I will cut off, but the horns of the righteous shall be lifted up.

Asaph is giving much praise to God in this psalm. He has even vowed to "declare it forever."

Is it the Lord who is speaking in verse 10? The wicked will be cut off and the righteous will be exalted. "Those of us who feel the sting of injustice and inequality understand the joy of God's intervention in our relationships."

What things can we learn from these verses? 1. We need to praise God regularly. 2. We need to thank him for his sovereign acts in our lives. 3. We need to rest in the fact that God will judge evil. No matter what the appearance, things are not "careening out of control."



From Tabletalk Magazine

Psalm 101:1
I will sing of steadfast love and justice; to you, O LORD, I will make music.

This is one of many passages in the Old Testament that expresses the "worshiper's dedication to sing the praises of God." "Scripture may have little to say directly about the style of music used in worship, but it is insistent that the words we sing be God-centered and filled with His truth."

"Our songs should rejoice in the breadth of the Lord's attributes, and all believers who are able should be unafraid to praise Him with all their might during times of song." I know everyone has heard this before, but the Bible says we are to make a joyful NOISE, not make a pretty sound. So what if you can't carry a tune in a bucket? You aren't singing to please me. Unless you're trying to sing in the choir or the praise team (these folks should at least have minimal talent), it doesn't matter - shout it out!! We have much to be praising for!



My Father, I will praise you at the top of my lungs for as long as I live. I am thankful that you gave me the talent for playing instruments and singing. I am grateful that you place in my heart the desire to worship you and to lead others to worship you, as well. I pray that the people of our fellowship will worship you with abandon and not be ashamed to shout out your praise, even if they are out of tune. I look forward to praising you with the multitudes in heave, and learning the new songs that you will have us singing.

I thank you for your sovereign work in my life. This sovereign work includes the period of time that I am spending without a job. I acknowledge that everything that happens falls under the umbrella of your control and sovereignty. I think you that you will ultimately judge evil and that all evil will eventually be eradicated. I look forward to the day when I will not even be tempted to sin!

I acknowledge that every good work or thought in me is the result of your power and grace. As the prayer above stated, "I rejoice to think that all things are at your disposal,
and it delights me to leave them there." How true that is. I don't want to try to be in control. That's your job, and you do it perfectly!

Father, I pray for the interview tomorrow. I pray for your will, and for discernment to know what's right and what is not right.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

PRAY FOR PRESIDENT OBAMA AND HIS ADMINISTRATION

The State Department said it is working out the particulars for accepting help from 12 countries and international
organizations in dealing with the massive oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico.

In a meeting with senators, President Obama offered firm support for including greenhouse gas curbs, limiting
greenhouse gas emissions, and putting a price on carbon, in legislation on climate change coming this summer.

Pray for the ongoing work on the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico and its impact on coming legislation.

I also pray that our President and legislatures stop wasting time and money on trying to legislate "climate change."



Rejoice in the Lord, and make a joyful noise to him! Praise him with all your might! Don't be concerned who hears you. Well...if you're at work, you might want to, you know, keep it down. I'm mostly talking about times of worship.

Grace and peace, friends!



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com