This Train
2010-06-27

I'm still basking in the joy that I rediscovered yesterday. I know that probably sounds "cheesy," and life is far from perfect. But you know what? Christi and I had a fantastic day yesterday, just riding around and doing stuff together. We drove out and found the place where I'll be going tomorrow for my interview, plus possibly identified another place to which I have applied.

We bought pool supplies, went to a Farmer's Market, and went to the library. Then we finished up the day with a nice tuna salad from Subway and some really delicious watermelon that we got at that Farmer's Market. Oh, and we played in the pool for a while, too.

A wonderful day with my best friend.



From The Valley of Vision

TO BE FIT FOR GOD

Thou Maker and Sustainer of all things,

Day and night are thine,
heaven and earth declare thy glory;
but I, a creature of thy power and bounty,
have sinned against thee by resisting
the dictates of conscience,
the demands of thy law,
the calls of thy gospel;
yet I live under the dispensation of a given hope.
Deliver me from worldly dispositions,
for I am born from above and bound for glory.
May I view and long after holiness
as the beauty and dignity of the soul.
Let me never slumber, never lose my assurance,
never fail to wear armour when passing through enemy land.
Fit me for every scene and circumstance;
Stay my mind upon thee and turn my trials to blessings,
that they may draw out my gratitude and praise
as I see their design and effects.
Render my obedience to thy will holy, natural, and delightful.
Rectify all my principles by clear, consistent, and influential views of divine truth.
Let me never undervalue or neglect any part of they revealed will.
May I duly regard the doctrine and practice of the gospel,
prizing its commands as well as its promises.
Sanctify me in every relation, office, transaction and condition of life,
that if I prosper I may not be unduly exalted,
if I suffer I may not be over-sorrowful.
Balance my mind in all varying circumstances
and help me to cultivate a disposition
that renders every duty a spiritual privilege.
Thus may I be content,
be a glory to thee
and an example to others.

I think part of this fits right in with the joy discussion. Especially the even-keeled aspect between prosperity and suffering. Joy helps that. Happiness, since it is defined by circumstances, is like a roller coaster ride. Joy, on the other hand, is more like a train ride across the prairie. It just keeps right on chugging, whether you prosper or suffer.



Psalm 73:21-25

21 When my soul was embittered, when I was pricked in heart, 22 I was brutish and ignorant; I was like a beast toward you. 23 Nevertheless, I am continually with you; you hold my right hand. 24 You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will receive me to glory. 25 Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.

Asaph finished out this psalm with some amazing confessions. He sees himself as he truly is, "brutish and ignorant," "like a beast." That's what happens when we truly meet God. It "exposes our limitations, our inadequacies, our weaknesses."

And this passage closes out with a beautiful verse. "Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you." What an amazing proclamation of truth! Asaph has seen the truth.

Don Wyrtzen closes out today's devotion by quoting an old hymn:

O to grace how great a debtor
Daily I'm constrained to be!
Let Thy goodness like a fetter
Bind my wandering heart to Thee.
Prone to wander - Lord, I feel it -
Prone to leave the God I love,
Here's my heart - O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.

(From A Musician Looks At the Psalms


Father, let my attitude be like that of Asaph, who finally realized that earth had nothing worthy of his desire. Whom have I in heaven but you? I have been long aware of my "brutish," beast-likeness. And, honestly, I don't think my self image has suffered from that. In fact, I think that this honesty helps my so-called "self image." Because I know that, in reality, I am nothing without you. And the only worth that I possess is what you gave me. Guide me with your counsel, and then receive me into glory, dear Lord.

Help me to be truly content in whatever place I find myself, that I may be, as the Puritan prayer said, glory to you and an example to others.

I pray for today's worship, as we get ready to go worship with the Family. I so look forward to this, and pray that our songs of praise will be acceptable to you. Let our hearts be pure as we praise you. Let our minds be not distracted by the cares of the world as we worship you. Teach us, O Lord, that we might serve you better.



From the Presidential Prayer Team Site:

PRAY FOR THESE NATIONAL LEADERS IN THE NEWS THIS WEEK:

Michael Bromwich, Bureau of Ocean Energy, Management, Regulation and Enforcement.

Joe Barton, U. S. House of Representatives, Texas.

Judge Martin Feldman, U. S. District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana.

General David Petraeus, Commander, U. S. Central Command, nominated to lead war effort in Afghanistan.



Let us let joy reign in our lives today and this week. Let us be more like a train than a roller coaster. "This train is bound for glory, this train!" Amen!

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com