God and God Alone
2010-06-20

Happy Father's Day to all fathers!

I'm a little behind this morning. But that's ok. Time was invented by man, anyway, right?

We had a very nice day yesterday, having lunch with my parents and kids. We went to our newest favorite restaurant, Fogata's. Mexican food, great "table-side guacamole." Sorry Fresco's, but Fogata's is better.



From The Valley of Vision

DIVINE PROMISES

"Glorious Jehovah, my covenant God,

All thy promises in Christ Jesus are yea and amen, and all shall be fulfilled.
Thou hast spoken them, and they shall be done, commanded, and they shall come to pass.
Yet I have often doubted thee, have lived at times as if there were no God.
Lord, forgive me that death in life, when I have found something apart from thee, when I have been content with ephemeral things.
But through thy grace I have repented;
Thou hast given me to read my pardon in the wounds of Jesus, and my soul doth trust in him, my God incarnate, the ground of my life, the spring of my hope.
Teach me to be resigned to thy will, to delight in thy law, to have no will but thine, to believe that everything thou doest is for my good.
Help me to leave my concerns in thy hands, for thou hast power over evil, and bringest from it an infinite progression of good, until thy purposes are fulfilled.
Bless me with Abraham's faith that staggers not at promises through unbelief.
May I not instruct thee in my troubles, but glorify thee in my trials;
Grant me a distinct advance in the divine life;
May I reach a higher platform, leave the mists of doubt and fear in the valley, and climb to hill-tops of eternal security in Christ by simply believing he cannot lie, or turn from his purpose.
Give me the confidence I ought to have in him who is worthy to be praised, and who is blessed for evermore."

Have I really lived as if there is no God? Have I found things apart from God to be content with? Sadly, yes, there have been times when both were true.



Psalm 72:11-14

11 May all kings fall down before him, all nations serve him! 12 For he delivers the needy when he calls, the poor and him who has no helper. 13 He has pity on the weak and the needy, and saves the lives of the needy. 14 From oppression and violence he redeems their life, and precious is their blood in his sight.

Solomon was revered by kings from all over the earth. He received tribute from many rulers. Yet he remained compassionate towards the needy, the afflicted, and the helpless. He believed in the "worth of the individual." "He was a great king with a servant heart much like that of One who came much later - our Savior, who knelt to wash His disciples' feet."

Would I rather be known as a great musician/worship leader, or as one who had a servant's heart, filled with compassion for the needy?



Father, I pray for a servant's heart. I pray for more compassion. We are always quick to be generous, when needs arise, but I have found it very easy lately, to use my unemployed status as an excuse to not help someone. Let that not be the case, my Lord. But also give us discernment when it comes to who we give aid to. Most of all, though, increase my compassion to those who are need, and are helpless.

Let me not live as though you do not exist. I know that I do that sometimes, and I confess that to you. I pray your forgiveness for those times. Let me find satisfaction in none other but you, Lord.

May we have an awesome time of worship this morning as we gather together. I pray blessings on all fathers today. Even the ones who don't "deserve" blessings. May they receive blessings and begin to change their attitudes.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

PRAY FOR THESE NATIONAL LEADERS IN THE NEWS THIS WEEK:

Luis CdeBaca, Ambassador at Large, U.S. State Department, Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons.

Spencer Bachus, U. S. House of Representatives, Alabama.

James L. Ryan, Senior Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

General James Amos, recommended as next Commandant for the United States Marine Corps.



It is a shocking thing to realize that perhaps you have, at times, lived as if God does not exist. But when we sin willfully, is that not what we do? Let us find our satisfaction in God and God alone.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com