No Lying, No Stealing
2010-06-19

Saturday morning of Father's Day weekend. Looking forward to a nice visit with my father today. And Rachel is coming over, too, so we'll all be together.

Also...today would have been my 15th anniversary at YRC Logistics. *sad face*



From The Valley of Vision

"Thou Great I Am,

I acknowledge and confess that all things come of thee - life, breath, happiness, advancement, sight, touch, hearing, goodness, truth, beauty - all that makes existence amiable.
In the spiritual world also I am dependent entirely upon thee.
Give me grace to know more of my need of grace;
Show me my sinfulness that I may willingly confess it;
Reveal to me my weakness that I may know my strength in thee.
I thank thee for any sign of penitence; give me more of it;
My sins are black and deep, and rise from a stony, proud, self-righteous heart;
Help me to confess them with mourning, regret, self-loathing, with no pretence to merit or excuse;
I need healing, Good Physician, here is scope for thee, come and manifest thy power;
I need faith;
Thou who hast given it me, maintain, strengthen, increase it,
Centre it upon the Saviour's work, upon the majesty of the Father, upon the operations of the Spirit;
Work it in me now that I may never doubt thee as the truthful, might, faithful God,
Then I can bring my heart to thee full of love, gratitude, hope, joy.
May I lay at thy feet these fruits grown in thy garden, love thee with a passion that can never cool, believe in thee with a confidence that never staggers, hope in thee with an expectation that can never be dim,
delight in thee with a rejoicing that cannot be stifled,
glorify thee with the highest of my powers, burning, blazing, glowing, radiating, as from thy own glory."

Do I really want God to show me the depth of my sin? That's a painful request. But, yes. I need to know. Because I must confess. That way, I can perform all of the things in that last, glorious sentence.



Psalm 72:1-2,4-5

1 Give the king your justice, O God, and your righteousness to the royal son! 2 May he judge your people with righteousness, and your poor with justice!

4 May he defend the cause of the poor of the people, give deliverance to the children of the needy, and crush the oppressor! 5 May they fear you while the sun endures, and as long as the moon, throughout all generations!

There's a good chance that Solomon composed this psalm, and that he was speaking both of himself and the future reign of the Messiah.

As a musician, I can learn from Solomon's "verbal artistry." 6 May he be like rain that falls on the mown grass, like showers that water the earth! 7 In his days may the righteous flourish, and peace abound, till the moon be no more! But he has ethics, too. See verse 2, May he judge your people with righteousness, and your poor with justice! "Solomon is worthy of emulation in my business dealings and in the practice of my faith."

"Living a life of integrity may not promote material rewards, but it promises spiritual prosperity!"
(From A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen)



Ephesians 4:28

Let the thief no longer steal, but rather let him labor, doing honest work with his own hands, so that he may have something to share with anyone in need.

Before I quote Matthew Henry Daily Readings, I want to point out the reason that Paul gives for working. It is not to put food on the table or to provide for a family. It is "so that he may have something to share with anyone in need." I believe that this also implies that anyone who works has at least something to share, no matter how small.

"Notice the particulars wherewith we should adorn our Christian profession. Take heed of everything contrary to truth. No longer flatter or deceive others. God's people are children who will not lie, who dare not lie, who hate and abhor lying. Take heed of anger and ungoverned passions. If there is just occasion to express displeasure at what is wrong, and to reprove, see that it be without sin." How often to we lie to one another when we meet together for worship? How often do we flatter each other with meaningless trivialities? How many times have you said "Good to see you," to someone and not meant it? Isn't that a lie?? I'm guilty, yes I am. Food for thought, there.

"Idleness makes thieves. Those who will not work, expose themselves to temptations to steal. Men ought to be industrious, that they may do some good, and that they may be kept from temptation. They must labor not only that they may live honestly but that they may have to give to the wants of others. What then must we think of those called Christians, who grow rich by fraud, oppression, and deceitful practices! Alms, to be accepted of God, must not be gained by unrighteousness and robbery, but by honesty and industry. God hates robbery for burnt-offerings."

Powerful words, there. Powerful and truthful.



Father, may my lips speak only truth. May I not flatter or deceive anyone ever again. Better to not say anything than to speak what is not true. Better yet, give me a love for every member of the Family that is such that I never again have to make up something "nice" to say to someone. My desire is to love the Church just as you love the Church.

I also desire to work, but you know this. I have no desire to be lazy and unemployed. Give me honest work to do with my hands (and my brain), so that I might have something to share with those in need. Let me never be tempted to steal, and if such an occasion arises, give me strength to deny that temptation.

Father, I also pray for the "verbal artistry" of King Solomon. Give me songs to write that glorify you and cause others to praise you. Help me to fan that gift into flame in the days ahead. Let me use some of my down time, while not working, to work on my musical talents. And may I always treat others with integrity.

Show me where I have sinned, my God, and then cleanse me with your cleansing breath. Breathe holiness upon me, and let me serve you and worship you in the beauty of holiness.

I pray for a good visit today with family. For those who will be having their first (or any number, for that matter) Father's Day since losing their earthly father, I pray your comfort. Be their true Father.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

PRAY FOR OUR JUDICIARY

Testimony has begun in a Philadelphia District Court trial involving attempts by the city to evict a Boy Scout
headquarters due to the Scouts� exclusionary policy regarding homosexuals.

The U.S. Supreme Court agreed to review whether federal court judges had the authority to order California to reduce
its prison population by 40,000 over the next two years to ease overcrowding and improve prison health care.

Pray for godly wisdom for the judges who rule in the nation�s lower courts.



Let us all take more care in how we speak to each other. We should speak only in love. And we should love each other as Christ has loved us. This is his "new" commandment!

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com