Far Too Little
2010-06-15

Yesterday was a productive day, at least around the house. Got my study cleaned up a lot, some things filed that were at least a year old, and other stuff. Today, I'll make some more "work search contacts."

But first, the most important things.



From The Valley of Vision
"My Dear LORD,
I can but tell thee that thou knowest I long for nothing but thyself, nothing but holiness, nothing but union with thy will.
Thou has given me these desires, and thou alone canst give me the thing desired.
My soul longs for communion with thee, for mortification of indwelling corruption, especially spiritual pride.
How precious it is to have a tender sense and clear apprehension of the mystery of godliness, of true holiness!
What a blessedness to be like thee as much as it is possible for a creature to be like its Creator!
Lord, give me more of thy likeness;
Enlarge my soul to contain fullness of holiness;
Engage me to live more for thee.
Help me to be less pleased with my spiritual experiences, and when I feel at ease after sweet communings, teach me it is far too little I know and do.
Blessed Lord, let me climb up near to thee, and love, and long, and plead, and wrestle with thee, and pant for deliverance from the body of sin, for my heart is wandering and lifeless, and my soul mourns to think it should ever lose sight of its Beloved.
Wrap my life in divine love, and keep me ever desiring thee, always humble and resigned to thy will, more fixed on thyself, that I may be more fitted for doing and suffering."

I came really close to just stopping after that. Wow.



Psalm 70:4-5

4 May all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you! May those who love your salvation say evermore, "God is great!" 5 But I am poor and needy; hasten to me, O God! You are my help and my deliverer; O LORD, do not delay!

David switches from asking for help from his problems to vigorous praise. If we love the salvation of God, we should be crying out, "God is great!"

"As I actively seek the Lord, I find great joy in Him. I delight in my salvation, in the help and deliverance He offers. Thank you, Lord."
(From A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen)



Father, I just want to echo that first prayer to you. I almost couldn't even continue after reading it, and perhaps I shouldn't have. I desire you and nothing else. Detour my heart away from any other desire, Lord! Let me not chase after anything else but you.

I keep praying for Christi, Lord. I pray for relief for her knees. She's still in a lot of pain.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

THE WAR

Insurgents with ground fire shot down a NATO helicopter this week in southern Afghanistan, the latest bloodshed
ahead of a major operation in the militants� heartland.

U.S. Defense Secretary Robert Gates voiced confidence this week that sufficient progress would be made in the war
in Afghanistan to begin a transition of greater authority to the Afghan forces in parts of the country this winter.

Pray for God�s protection over our military men and women of every rank and responsibility in Afghanistan and Iraq.

Again I add a prayer that we get our military out of Iraq.



Let us be careful that we don't get too comfortable after a "sweet communing" with our Lord. "...it is far too little that [we] know and do."

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com