God's Timing
2010-06-14

Here we go. Another Monday morning. Another week of job-hunting. I think I've figured out what's wrong. I don't have a "job rifle."

Stop groaning. I know it was a bad joke.

Good news. I got my severance pay from YRC today, finally. Turns out the boss had forgotten to forward my paperwork to them. But he did it Friday, and they expedited the payment so I got it today. That surprised me greatly. They normally only pay on Fridays.



Psalm 70:1-3

1 Make haste, O God, to deliver me! O LORD, make haste to help me! 2 Let them be put to shame and confusion who seek my life! Let them be turned back and brought to dishonor who delight in my hurt! 3 Let them turn back because of their shame who say, "Aha, Aha!"

David's life is in danger and his reputation is on the line. He cries out for God to save him, and quickly. This might be compared with the event in Peter's life when he walked on the water to go to Jesus. When he took his eyes off of Jesus and looked at the waves, he began to sink. He cried out, with great urgency, for Jesus to save him.

There are many times in our lives when we need God's help and we need it quickly. We can rest assured that he will respond in a timely manner, too. He knows what we need, and he knows when we need it.

I recall commenting during our prayer time yesterday that I "need a job." But then I thought...I guess God doesn't exactly agree with that statement, or I would have one. I will get a job when God decides I need one. (However, that doesn't mean I'm going to stop looking for one.) The point is, no matter how desperate we think our situation is, God will handle it...but it will be in his time.
(From A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen)



1 John 5:3

For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments. And his commandments are not burdensome.

From Matthew Henry Daily Readings: "True love for the people of God, may be distinguished from natural kindness or party attachments, by its being united with the love of God, and obedience to his commands. The same Holy Spirit that taught the love will have taught obedience also; and that man cannot truly love the children of God, who, by habit, commits sin or neglects known duty."

"Faith is the cause of victory, the means, the instrument, the spiritual armor by which we overcome. In and by faith we cleave to Christ, in contempt of, and in opposition to the world. Faith sanctifies the heart, and purifies it from those sensual lusts by which the world obtains sway and dominion over souls. It has the indwelling Spirit of grace, which is greater than he who dwells in the world. The real Christian overcomes the world by faith; he sees, in and by the life an conduct of the Lord Jesus on earth that this world is to be renounced and overcome."



Father, I thank you for the faith that overcomes. I thank you that your Spirit has taught me both love and obedience (or is, at least, in the process of teaching me obedience). I thank you that you have been teaching me about your Family and how we are supposed to relate to one another, and how much we are supposed to love each other. I pray for unity throughout your Family, throughout your Church. Let us love each other as you have loved us.

I thank you that your timing is perfect. I pray that my desires and needs will line up with your desires and your timing. Let me accept whatever comes from you as perfect. I pray that I will not be dissatisfied with anything that you bring my way.

I continue to pray for Rich Ashley, and his recover. He seems to be doing well after surgery.

I pray for Christi's work day today. I pray for her continued healing from her knee surgery.

I also pray for Gina to be healed from her cancer.

You are almighty God, and all things are in your control.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

GULF OF MEXICO OIL CALAMITY AND THE ENVIRONMENT

Detailed chemical analyses of water from the deep sea show that plumes containing some of the most toxic
components of the oil are not rising to the surface, but stretch 50 miles and more from the leaking oil well.

A second rig unrelated to the Deepwater Horizon spill has been leaking oil into the Gulf of Mexico since late April,
according to reports that appear to show a clearly visible slick at the second location.

Pray for the scientists, researchers and laborers who are working to stop the leaks and contain or clean up the oil.

Also pray for the oil companies to "man up" and take responsibility for their mistakes.



We have a God whose timing is perfect. We also have faith, which is a gift from that same God. So, as we exercise our faith, let us be confident in God's timing in our lives.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com