Think On These Things
2010-06-11

God help me. I'm starting to panic. And I know that's wrong. I need to take a few deep breaths and remind myself who I'm trusting. And, as you already know, it's not the lack of job that I'm panicking over. It's that I haven't gotten my severance yet. Two people that worked a week longer than me have already gotten theirs, as of this morning, and mine hasn't shown up yet.

I know. I know. Settle down. But it's hard. Why is it so hard to trust in you? I mean fully trust. I know worry is a sin, but it's so ingrained into me. I've got to get away from it.

Ok. I'll be quiet now and get into your words...



Psalm 69:1-4

1 Save me, O God! For the waters have come up to my neck. 2 I sink in deep mire, where there is no foothold; I have come into deep waters, and the flood sweeps over me. 3 I am weary with my crying out; my throat is parched. My eyes grow dim with waiting for my God. 4 More in number than the hairs of my head are those who hate me without cause; mighty are those who would destroy me, those who attack me with lies. What I did not steal must I now restore?

That's exactly how I'm feeling this morning, too. And I don't pick these passages. They are from a book, with dated readings. That's today's reading...June 11.

David's situation is a bit different, though. He's being unjustly accused of something. His suffering is "a consequence of zealously following the Lord. He puts on sackcloth, signifying mourning, and pours out his heart to the Lord." Here's the prayer written by the author: "Dear God, teach me how to embrace Your sufferings so I can share in the delights of Your Kingdom and may I use the gift of music to share the secrets of Your caring with others."
(From A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen)



Philippians 4:2-9

2 I entreat Euodia and I entreat Syntyche to agree in the Lord. 3 Yes, I ask you also, true companion, help these women, who have labored side by side with me in the gospel together with Clement and the rest of my fellow workers, whose names are in the book of life. 4 Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice. 5 Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; 6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. 8 Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. 9 What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me--practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.

From Matthew Henry Daily Readings: "As a remedy against perplexing care, constant prayer is recommended. Not only stated times for prayer, but in everything by prayer. We must join thanksgiving with prayers and supplications; not only seek supplies of good, but own the mercies we have received. God needs not to be told our wants or desires; he knows them better than we do; but he will have us show that we value the mercy, and feel our dependence on him. The peace of God, the comfortable sense of being reconciled to God, and having a part in his favor, and the hope of the heavenly blessedness, are a greater good than can be fully expressed. This peace will keep our hearts and minds through Christ Jesus; it will keep us from sinning under troubles, and from sinking under them; keep us calm and with inward satisfaction."

I really needed that. I'm breathing it in right now, like fresh oxygen to my soul.



Father, I thank you for the peace that passes all understanding. I pray that you help me focus on things that are true, honorable, just, pure, lovely, commendable, excellent, and praiseworthy. That's very difficult in this world. Help me to have that peace right now. I'm crying out to you to help me trust you. You have given me some good words this morning, to meditate on. I know you don't need me to tell you what my needs and desires are. You know them before I do. In fact, I suppose you've known them since before the foundations of the earth, which kind of makes my head spin. But I will acknowledge my complete dependence on you for everything I have.

I have no update on Rick Ashley, Lord, so I'll just keep praying for his recover. I don't know how yesterday's surgery went.

Lord, keep Christi safe at work today. I pray that she doesn't have to walk very much.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

PRAY FOR OUR CONGRESSIONAL LEADERS

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (California) instructed involved committee chairs to have proposals on legislation in
response to the Gulf oil spill ready by July 4 so they can be taken up on the House floor after that weekend recess.

The Senate has returned to a pivotal, long-simmering debate over the Environmental Protection Agency�s authority to
regulate greenhouse gases. The Clean Air and Clean Water Acts are under scrutiny because of the Gulf oil spill.

Pray for our legislators to draft appropriate responses to the Gulf oil disaster.



What kinds of things are important to us? Philippians 4:8 gives us a good list of what kinds of things we should be thinking about. I'm going to endeavor to obey that Scripture. And as much as I might hesitate to do this in a devotional journal, I'm going to quote Monty Python...."Always look on the bright side of life...*whistlewhistlewhistlewhistle*"

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com