My Deliverer Is Coming...
2010-06-08

Today, I'm going to go downtown and take a clerical test for a job with the Fort Worth PD. They have a "data reporting technician" job opening. I was not surprised, yet somewhat disappointed to find that the library job was given to someone else. I'm struggling with depression this morning, a natural result of news such as that, but I'm determined to not give in to it, because I'm firmly convinced, both in mind and heart, that if that job didn't work out, then it wasn't the best one for me.


Psalm 68:3-6

3 But the righteous shall be glad; they shall exult before God; they shall be jubilant with joy! 4 Sing to God, sing praises to his name; lift up a song to him who rides through the deserts; his name is the LORD; exult before him! 5 Father of the fatherless and protector of widows is God in his holy habitation. 6 God settles the solitary in a home; he leads out the prisoners to prosperity, but the rebellious dwell in a parched land.

I haven't experienced some of the things mentioned in this psalm. I'm not fatherless, but I've known people who are. In fact, it is a bit disturbing how many of my daughter's school friends don't live with their fathers. Doesn't mean they don't have one, but some of them don't have any contact with them or their fathers are so far away that contact is minimal. My wife is now fatherless, as her father passed away a couple years ago. God is Father to us all, but more intimately to the "fatherless."

I've not been widowed, but I've known people whose spouses have passed on. God has a special role for widows. He is their "protector" (or "defender," depending on which version you're reading...pretty much means the same thing). Do I think he only means female "widows" here? Don't know. I think men who have lost their wives need some protecting, too, but in biblical times, ladies whose husbands had died were a bit more vulnerable.

I've never been in prison, but I worship with people who have. God has led them out. Interesting difference in the translations, here. The ESV is quoted above, "He leads out the prisoners to prosperity." NIV says, "He leads forth the prisoners with singing." Well, both are true, aren't they? I feel pretty strongly that the ex-prisoners that I work with would say that they have been led out to prosperity, and that they came out with singing!

Point is, though, even if I have never experienced those events in my life, God is still my Father, my Protector/Defender, my Deliverer/Provider, and my Redeemer! I've been in spiritual prison, yes I have! And he has delivered me; brought me out with singing!
(Inspiration from A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen)

I'm reminded of a Rich Mullins song that was never properly released and can be found on the double CD "The Jesus Record."

"My Deliverer is coming, my Deliverer is standing by...I will never doubt his promise, though I doubt my heart, I doubt my eyes; My Deliverer is coming, my Deliverer is standing by."

Hallelujah!

By the way, Christian Rock pioneer Dana Key is now singing songs with Rich Mullins at the feet of Jesus. He passed away on June 6 of a pulmonary embolism (severe blood clots).



Father, I thank you for being my Father, my Deliverer, my Protector, my Provider, and my Redeemer. I'm sitting here right now looking at those words, and my mind is boggled. I find that I am unable to completely "wrap my brain" around all of these concepts! As the psalmist said in Psalm 139, it is too much for me; "Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high; I cannot attain it." (I know...I took that out of context.) You are all of those and more to me. One of your other children, Dennis Jernigan, also said it well when he said, "Jesus is Lord, but He is much more..." You are more than Lord to us! We can't fathom all of your names, all of your attributes. I think there are probably names and attributes that we couldn't even imagine. I am in awe of you, today, Father. Completely awestruck. Your grace is too much for me to comprehend. You have given us gifts that we don't deserve. You have delivered us from the clutches of sin and the Evil One. (This time I'm not talking about the Yankees.) You have given us families and Family! You have adopted me and placed me in the best Family that could ever be!!

Father, I want to lift up a special prayer for a friend from high school who had cancer surgery yesterday, Rick Ashley. I'm praying that his surgery was successful and that he will recover quickly.

I also lift up the family and friends of Dana Key, that they would be comforted, knowing that he is with you, celebrating in the Kingdom!

I pray for one of my local friends, Gina, who has had a recurrence of her cancer. We pray for healing for her, Father, as well as wisdom in decision-making.

And finally, I lift up Christi. She is recovering well, and I pray that it will continue and that she will be able to be up and about soon. She doesn't like having to sit around and do nothing.

We praise you for your provision, and I thank you that you have a great job waiting for me somewhere. Help me be patient and wait for it.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

THE ECONOMY

May employment figures will show a spike in numbers due to the 575,000 temporary census workers April�s report
was 290,000 new jobs created, according to Reuters.

Despite the Gulf oil spill, gasoline prices dropped this week for the 26th straight day, to a national average of $2.92 per
gallon, a streak that may last until mid-June, with another 10 to 12 cents to fall.

Give thanks for any good news that comes relative to our national economy.



Think about all the things that God is to you today. Just meditate on those characteristics of God and be thankful for them.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com