I Long For the Day
2010-06-06

Good Sunday morning to all! I am ready to go praise the Lord with the Family! The part I'm not looking forward to is Christi won't be there. She still needs to be taking it easy, keeping that knee propped up. Steph will come with me, though. But, as always, I look forward to seeing the Family and sharing with them.


Psalm 66:16-20

16 Come and hear, all you who fear God, and I will tell what he has done for my soul. 17 I cried to him with my mouth, and high praise was on my tongue. 18 If I had cherished iniquity in my heart, the Lord would not have listened. 19 But truly God has listened; he has attended to the voice of my prayer. 20 Blessed be God, because he has not rejected my prayer or removed his steadfast love from me!

Continuing the theme from yesterday. This is the best witness or testimony that a believer in Christ can have. "Come and hear!" "Let me tell you what God has done for MY soul." There is a danger here, though, I believe. I have heard people use verse 18 as "proof" that if you have "un-confessed sin" in your life, God won't hear your prayers. I disagree with that idea. I believe that my sin has all been forgiven. All of it. Past, present, future. All confession does is show that I agree with God about my sin. The verse says, "If I cherished iniquity in my heart..." What does "cherish" mean? It means "to hold dear; to feel or show affection for." If I love sin, then God will not hear my prayers. But then, if I love sin, I'm probably not a believer, am I? (Keep in mind, these are just opinions...)

One other note about verse 18. What is described (or implied, I guess) is repentance. When I get to a place where I do not cherish sin in my heart, I have truly repented. At that point, forgiveness has come, and God will listen to prayers.
(Inspiration from A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen)



Good reading from Jerry Bridges today, in Holiness Day By Day. The Scripture reference is Hebrews 12:22-23. 22 But you have come to Mount Zion and to the city of the living God, the heavenly Jerusalem, and to innumerable angels in festal gathering, 23 and to the assembly of the firstborn who are enrolled in heaven, and to God, the judge of all, and to the spirits of the righteous made perfect...

"Although the Spirit is at work in us to transform us, our sinful nature opposes Him every step of the way. We find we still struggle with indwelling sin. A continuous conflict wages between two opposing forces in our hearts. We struggle with pride, selfishness, impatience, a critical spirit, a sharp tongue, a lack of love, and countless expressions of our sinful natures.

"We'll have this struggle as long as we live in these bodies. It's painful because we're at war within ourselves, and continually we have to say no to sinful desires. It's sometimes humiliating as sinful traits reveal themselves to our consciousness. Sometimes we soar into the heavenlies with Christ in our morning devotions, only to come crashing down with a thud before nine o'clock through some conflict with another person."

Don't I know this!! From personal experience, I can attest to the truth of this reading. And oh, how I long to be released from this "curse!" And, someday, we will be released! On that day, when we come face to face with our Savior, we will no longer have to deal with this struggle. I cannot even begin to imagine what that will be like. What will it feel like to never be tempted to sin again? It will be glorious!



Father, I long for that day. I am so looking forward to the day when I will no longer have that desire within my flesh to sin. My only desire will be to serve and worship you for all eternity. Hallelujah and amen!

I thank you that I have a testimony that I can share with the world. "Come and see what the Lord has done for my soul!" I can say that. I praise you for what you have done in and for my soul! I thank you that I don't cherish sin in my heart. Yes, I struggle with it, because of the sin nature that still resides within my flesh. But I don't cherish it. I don't love it. Quite the opposite, in fact. I HATE it! Thank you for hearing my prayers, Lord.

I pray for Christi's continued healing from the surgery. I pray that the pain will be gone.

I pray for good worship today. May your name be honored and glorified as we meet together today.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

PRAY FOR THESE LEADERS THIS WEEK:

Donald Berwick, Administrator of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid.

Congressman Gary Ackerman, United States House of Representatives, 5th District of New York.

Robert W. Sweet, Senior Judge, United States District Court for the Southern District of New York.

Major General Richard Mills, United States Marine Corps, Afghanistan.



Give thanks to the Lord today, because he has granted you repentance. If you no longer cherish sin in your hearts, praise his name, he hears your prayers. Also remember, that, in the midst of your struggles with sin, there will be a day when that struggle will cease.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com