Predestined To Be Conformed
2010-05-31

Father, I pause for a moment this morning, before beginning my Scripture readings, to give you thanks for the men and women over the centuries who have sacrificed much so that I might have the freedoms that I have today. May your grace and favor be on those who still live who served. I pray your comfort on the families of those who gave the "ultimate sacrifice."

Nevertheless, it is your sacrifice that ultimately provided my freedom. I am more grateful for that than for the sacrifice of any human. Praises be to you, O God!



Psalm 64:1-6

1 Hear my voice, O God, in my complaint; preserve my life from dread of the enemy. 2 Hide me from the secret plots of the wicked, from the throng of evildoers, 3 who whet their tongues like swords, who aim bitter words like arrows, 4 shooting from ambush at the blameless, shooting at him suddenly and without fear. 5 They hold fast to their evil purpose; they talk of laying snares secretly, thinking, "Who can see them?" 6 They search out injustice, saying, "We have accomplished a diligent search." For the inward mind and heart of a man are deep!

The key point to notice in this passage is who David turns to. He is assaulted on every side by the various schemes of the "wicked." The "whet their tongues like swords," and "aim bitter words like arrows." They shoot "from ambush at the blameless." But David, rather than seeking out ways to take justice into his own hands, turns to God for protections. "Hear my voice, O God!" "Preserve my life from dread of the enemy!"

We may have complaints. In face, we all do at times. But God is our protector, and we must turn to him and cry out for him to hear our pleas.
(Inspiration from A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen)



Psalm 53:1

The fool says in his heart, "There is no God." They are corrupt, doing abominable iniquity; there is none who does good.

In today's reading in Matthew Henry Daily Readings, the title is "Practical Atheism." The reading is from Henry's commentary on Hosea 7:1-7.

"A practical disbelief of God's government was at the bottom of all Israel's wickedness; as if God could not see or did not heed it. Their sins appear on every side of them. Their hearts were inflamed by evil desires, like a heated oven. In the midst of their troubles as a nation, the people never thought of seeking help from God. This is the sinner's atheism; as good say that there is no God as say that he is either ignorant or forgetful, that there is none that judges in the earth as that he remembers not the things he is to give judgment upon."

In other words, if you claim to be a believer, yet live your life as though God does not see you or will not judge you, you might as well be an atheist. Very sober thought.



Romans 8:29

For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the firstborn among many brothers.

There is a truth here that I think has slipped by me all these years. Beyond the fact that God has chosen us in him, before the foundations of the earth, there is a more astounding truth. "...he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son..."

What does this mean? It means that all of us who call the name of Jesus, all of us who are believer in Christ will be conformed to the image of Jesus! I know...some of you reading this are saying, "Duh...I've known this for years." But God just now revealed this to me. I'm going to be just like Jesus! When? I have no idea. Definitely upon arrival to my final destination. But God has predestined that I be conformed to the image of Christ! It also means that he is, right now, right this very second, working on that conformation in me by the power of the Holy Spirit. I was almost tempted to say that I might be making it difficult for him, but that would be wrong, wouldn't it? Because nothing is difficult for God. He knows exactly how long it's going to take. And he is working it out. I will be conformed to the image of Christ. It is already decided. I don't have to worry about it. That is one of the most freeing revelations I've had in a very long time!
(Inspiration from Holiness Day By Day, by Jerry Bridges)



Father, I lift my hands and my voice in praise for this truth. Thank you for showing this to me today. I pray that this truth will assimilate itself into my daily life. I pray that I will be able to share it with others as you see fit.

I pray that I never fall into the trap of "practical atheism." I know that you always see. Let me never think that I can hide anything from you or that you don't care if I'm obedient. I know differently. You see all, know all, and you definitely desire obedience from your children. I pray that your Church will not be like Israel was. Let us seek your help when we struggle, and call on you when we are facing trials.

May I always call on you for protection when I feel I am being attacked in any way. Let me never attack back. May I always turn the other cheek. Vengeance is yours, and I should call on you, not seek my own.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

"Holy Lord, be with President Obama and his family as they relax in Chicago this weekend. Also be with Vice President Biden as he places the wreath on the Tomb of the Unknowns on today.

Father, thank You for the United States and its government. I pray for the president, the national and local government, the judges, the policemen, the business leaders and all those who are in leadership positions in this country. Please protect them from the evil that is in the world and keep them safe and free from all harm.

You have promised to bless any nation that follows after You. Help us to live quiet and peaceful lives so that we can continue to spread the Good News of the Gospel throughout our land. In Jesus� name, Amen."



Ponder the truth that we have been predestined to be conformed to the image of Christ. How amazing is that?

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com