God's Timing
2010-05-26

Father, it's been a productive day, at least. I got a few things done around the house that needed doing. So I'm not just sitting around playing "Bejeweled Blitz." Well, not ALL of the time, anyway.

The struggle I have, though, Lord, is what I'm supposed to be doing. I don't want to miss out on something, but I also don't want to go out and get another offer if this library thing is going to come through. I'm trying to trust you, but I'm conflicted.



Psalm 62:5-8

5 For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him. 6 He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken. 7 On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God. 8 Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us. Selah

Wow. This Psalm is just fabulous. "Wait in silence, for my hope is from him!" God is my rock and my salvation, my fortress! Again, "I shall not be shaken!" And verse seven tells me that my honor and glory rest in God and God alone!

What we learn from David in this Psalm is that God is "not an abstract theological concept...but his source of hope, safety, deliverance, and unshakeable faith." Not the frequent usage of the word "my."

And, then, in verse eight, based on his own experience, David pleads with the people to trust in God the same way he does.

This may have been just what I needed to hear today.
(Quotes and inspiration from A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen)



Ephesians 4:29

Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.

From Matthew Henry Daily Readings

"We must forgive, as he has forgiven us."
"Corrupt passions of bitterness, wrath, anger, clamor, evil-speaking, and malice, grieve the Holy Spirit. Provoke not the holy, blessed Spirit of God to withdraw his presence and his gracious influences."

This is also something I need to hear. I think there's something I'm going to need to take care of. Probably long overdue.



Father, I pray for strength and wisdom to do the right thing.

I thank you, even again, for being my rock and fortress and refuge. I will wait silently for your salvation. I will wait patiently before you for your deliverance. I will trust you.



Wait for him. He is faithful.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com