We Are Of Peace
2010-05-22

Saturday morning. We had a nice visit with my mother-in-law and her husband last night. Cooked dinner for them, then had strawberry shortcake. Who came up with that name, anyway? Really, it's just weird. But it goes together so well...

Anyway...we were celebrating Mother's Day and his birthday. Because everything went to H-E-double hockey sticks the real Mother's Day weekend, didn't it?

My parental units are coming over today for the same purpose. Except it's not my Dad's birthday...We will take them out to eat.



Praying for wisdom as I prepare for tomorrow's worship...


Psalm 61:1-2

1 Hear my cry, O God, listen to my prayer; 2 from the end of the earth I call to you when my heart is faint. Lead me to the rock that is higher than I,

David is feeling overwhelmed. His heart is faint. Perhaps he feels insecure. These feelings make one an easy target for discouragement and/or depression. So where does David turn? To the best source. He turns to God, and asks God to "lead me to the rock that is higher than I."

Too often, we allow ourselves to fall into the trap of despair or depression. I've been guilty of that, and recently. But I've also brought that despair and depression to my Father, and asked him the very thing that David asked. "Lead me to the rock that is higher than I." Lead me to a place of safety, a refuge, a place that I could never reach myself. Remember...our God neither slumbers nor sleeps (Psalm 121:4). He is as close as our next prayer.
(Inspiration from A Musician Looks at the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen)



In the weekend article from Tabletalk Magazine, entitled "Jesus Our Peace," John P. Sartelle has this to say:

"The walls of alienation built and fortified every dy in the world are destroyed by Christ. Are you a feminist? Leave it outside. That wall has been destroyed by Christ. Are you a male chauvinist? Leave it outside. That wall has been destroyed by Christ. Do you discriminate based on race? Leave it outside. That wall has been destroyed by Christ. Do you draw social or economic distinctions? Leave them outside? Those walls have been destroyed by the gospel.

"Christian sisters and brothers, just think what a testimony that was to the reality and power of the gospel in the ancient world - Jews and Gentiles living in harmony. That same powerful witness is taking place when blacks and whites, Serbs and Albanians, Arabs and Jews, Japanese and Chinese gather as one underneath the cross of Christ.

"Just as the war with God brought war between men, peace with God brought peace between men. You cannot be at peace with God and at war with His other children who have been redeemed by the blood of His Son."

Read that last statement again. "You cannot be at peace with God and at war with His other children who have been redeemed by the blood of His Son."

Amen, and Hallelujah!



Father, I pray that your Family can make better progress towards eliminating bigotry in the Church. It is true. We cannot possibly be at peace with you while we fight amongst ourselves. We should be of peace. Only of peace. Let us experience peace in the Family.

I thank you, Father, that I can cry out to you when I am on the verge of depression and discouragement. I thank you that there is a "rock that is higher than I." I praise you for the refuge and fortress that is YOU! Lead me there, Father. Lead me there, daily.

I pray for our worship tomorrow. Let it be acceptable in your sight. Let us gather as part of your Family, love each other, minister to each other, and leave changed, even if just a little.



God is a God of peace and love, especially when it comes to his Family. If you have held on to feelings of bigotry towards any group of people, "leave it outside. That wall has been destroyed by Christ."

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com