Justice
2010-05-14

Father, I thank you for a good night's rest. I'm more excited than nervous about this morning's interview. At least right now, anyway. I pray that it will go well. Please don't let me make an idiot of myself.


Psalm 58:1-5

1 Do you indeed decree what is right, you gods? Do you judge the children of man uprightly? 2 No, in your hearts you devise wrongs; your hands deal out violence on earth. 3 The wicked are estranged from the womb; they go astray from birth, speaking lies. 4 They have venom like the venom of a serpent, like the deaf adder that stops its ear, 5 so that it does not hear the voice of charmers or of the cunning enchanter.

First of all, who does he mean by "you gods?" Discuss.

This psalm appears to be about justice. And the idea that the "wicked" are, indeed, wicked right out of the womb is presented here.

Life is frequently unfair. But our God is a God of righteousness and justice. Abraham, in Genesis 18:25, spoke truth that the "judge of all the earth" would do what is right.

But the lesser "gods" that David speaks of are not just. In fact, they purposefully devise wrongs. They speak lies. They deal out violence.

Let us remember that the human heart is deceitful above all things (Jeremiah 17:9). This is why we need a Savior, and this is why we need the justice of a righteous God. When deceitful and sick hearts begun doling out "justice," the only possible result is a chaos similar to what we are experiencing in our land today.
(Commentary from A Musician Looks At the Psalms)



Father, I pray for justice in this world, but not the justice of men. I pray for your justice to roll over the face of the earth like a might wave. I guess this means I'm praying for the end of time as we know it, since that's what your ultimate justice callse for. But...that will be the ultimate for us, as well, won't it. Because, when that day comes, we will be united with you for all eternity. What a glorious day that will be.

In the meantime, I pray for your wisdom in the imperfect hearts of people who sit in seats of justice. With all due respect, I guess they do the best they can, although I find that doubtful sometimes. Nevertheless, they cannot fully perform their roles without your wisdom. I pray that men and women in seats of justice will seek your heart and your wisdom.

I know that your will will be accomplished in this world. As it is in heaven, so shall it be on earth. I praise you for your providence and your control over everything. I praise you that you chose me to be yours. I can never adequately express my gratitude for that.

Father, as I head to Arlington now for this interview, I pray your blessings on the interview. I pray for the two ladies who will be conducting it. I pray that there will be a feeling right off the bat that this is a "match made in Heaven."

However...if it is not meant to be, I graciously accept that, as well.

I pray for Kathy Welch's recovery this week from her surgery. Thank you that it went well.

I pray that we will have a great worship time Sunday morning. I pray for your presence to be manifested in glory!



Well...here I go. Interview in one hour.

Grace and peace, friends!



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com