Awaken the Dawn!
2010-05-13

Father, today has been an emotional day. We had our final deliveries today for our biggest customer that we had serviced for as long as I have been working at this company. It looks like I may only have two or three more days of work at this place. And then I got a couple of calls on Stephanie this afternoon. Not serious, but still trying to figure out what's going on. I pray for some peace and comfort this afternoon from your words.


Psalm 57:7-11

7 My heart is steadfast, O God, my heart is steadfast! I will sing and make melody! 8 Awake, my glory! Awake, O harp and lyre! I will awake the dawn! 9 I will give thanks to you, O Lord, among the peoples; I will sing praises to you among the nations. 10 For your steadfast love is great to the heavens, your faithfulness to the clouds. 11 Be exalted, O God, above the heavens! Let your glory be over all the earth!

I can't read that Psalm without thinking of the old worship chorus, "Be Exalted, O God." It was one of the early ones, when choruses were just beginning to break into the routines of churches. I confess I was one of the skeptics for a long time (I'm still not crazy about the ones that really don't say anything and just repeat the same thing over and over).

The best way David can praise God is through music. He will sing and play his instruments before the Lord. That is his talent; his gift. And he uses it to worship God. And David must be a "morning person," since he plans to "awaken the dawn" with singing! That's pretty drastically different from the way I usually "awaken the dawn." Heh. But we, of all people, have reason to wake up singing, don't we? The God of the universe loves us and provides for us. That won't make a "morning person" out of me (there's a reason I have gotten along so well working nights all these years...), but it might give me something to be a little less grumpy about in the mornings.

"Be exalted, O God!" Yes!
(Commentary from A Musician Looks At the Psalms)



I pray, Father, that you be exalted in all the earth! I thank you that, like David, I have been given gifts of musical talent, and that I use those gifts to glorify and praise you. Help me to "awaken the dawn," with David. Keep my heart steadfast like David's.


I'm heading off to Grapevine to meet up with some people from work. Just a little "farewell" party with a bunch of folks who have worked together a real long time.

Pardon my expression, friends, but this just sucks. That's all there is to it.

Thanks a lot, YRC Worldwide.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com