God Knows
2010-05-06

I'm sleepy this afternoon. Mostly because I was up late putting in a job application online. It was for a TSA job (that's the people at the airport that give you such a hard time, in case you're wondering...). That was a complicated application. Lots of questions. And then you had to write something about why you answered the questions the way you did. I probably won't get it. If there are any veterans or other federal employees that applied, they will get first dibs. But you can't get it if you don't try, right?


John 5:6

When Jesus saw him lying there and knew that he had already been there a long time, he said to him, "Do you want to be healed?"

This happened at the Pool of Bethesda. The story goes that, every so often, an angel would stir the waters of this pool, and the first one in would get healed of their affliction or disease. There were a lot of sick people camped around this pool. The particular man in this passage was lame, so he couldn't get to the water quickly when it was stirred. (Apparently it didn't work if you just sat in the water??) Anyway...Matthew Henry comments, "This teaches us to be careful, that we let not a season slip which may never return. The man had lost the use of his limbs thirty-eight years. Shall we, who perhaps for many years have scarcely known what it has been to be a day sick, complain of one wearisome night, when many others, better than we, have scarcely known what it has been to be a day well? Christ singled this one out from the rest. Those long in affliction may comfort themselves that God keeps account how long."

Regarding letting a "season slip," I can still remember a day, almost 30 years ago, when I didn't do something that I felt very strongly that God wanted me to do. I felt great loss later. So, if you have a strong urge from the Holy Spirit to do something, do it.

The end of the story? The man was healed. He never asked to be. He didn't act as though he were entitled to it. Jesus simply healed him. The man left the place very joyful. I like what Mr. Henry says at the end, though. We need not think that God doesn't notice our sufferings. He sees, and he knows exactly how long the pain has gone on.

On a positive note, last night at work, I felt an equally strong impression from the Spirit to do something, and I immediately did it.

That felt really good.



Father, I pray that I never let another opportunity like that pass me by. There's no point in wasting time with regrets over something that happened almost 30 years ago. It's there as a reminder, but that's it. But I thank you for the urging that I felt last night, and that I was able to follow through with it and be obedient. I pray that there will be some positive outcomes from it, as well.

I'm grateful, Father, that you care enough about us to know how long we've suffered. Even if you choose not to take away that suffering at the moment, it helps to know that you know about it and acknowledge it.

Let us never feel that we are entitled to any blessing from you. Every good and perfect gift comes from you, but it is essential that we realize and remember that they are just that. GIFTS! We do not deserve them. You do not owe us. You give to us from the kindness of your heart and out of your love for us. Let us be eternally grateful for this.



Remember that everything you have comes from God. And all of it was a gift. You didn't earn it; you didn't deserve it. But he decided that you needed it. Give him thanks.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com