Ask. Seek. Knock. Repeat As Necessary.
2010-05-05

I missed yesterday because I was finishing my profile on Monster.com. Probably not a good reason to skip my devotion, but it needed to be completed.

It's been an emotional roller coaster since the Thursday night I found out I would be losing my job. Today, the roller coaster is on the way up the hill. I'm hoping it's a long hill so the inevitable downhill is delayed a while. Faith is a little stronger today. I've been finding some extra time to pray, and God has been giving me some direction.



Psalm 52:8-9

8 But I am like a green olive tree in the house of God. I trust in the steadfast love of God forever and ever. 9 I will thank you forever, because you have done it. I will wait for your name, for it is good, in the presence of the godly.

"David uses the metaphor of a flourishing olive tree to depict God's blessing on his life. His faith is strong because his roots go down deep into the soil of God's unfailing love."

Notice the last sentence. David will not be a spiritual loner. He will gather with other saints to worship and praise God for the things he has done.

"So many of us are loners, but how we need each other! Isolation, alienation, and aloneness result in weakness. The fellowship of brothers and sisters in Christ lends strength."

How I have proven that to be true! This is why I love gathering with the Family on Sunday mornings. It is refreshing and strengthening to be together.

I can also proclaim that my spiritual roots go down deep. I may not always display the greatest faith, outwardly, but my roots are deep into the soil of God's grace and mercy. In my heart, I know that God is in control of all things and will never leave us or forsake us. My brain doesn't always follow suit, though.



Ok. This is unbelievable.

Let me set this up. Last Sunday morning, we talked about Matthew 7:7-8.

7 "Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. 8 For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened."

Then last night at work, during my prayer on my lunch break, I felt led to return to the passage, as I have been challenged to make sure that I don't stop seeking God's face.

I just opened my Matthew Henry Daily Readings book to today's reading. Guess what the Scripture is.

Yep.

"Prayer is the appointed means for obtaining what we need. Pray; pray often; make a business of prayer, and be serious and earnest in it. Ask, as a beggar asks alms. Ask, as a traveler asks the way. Seek, as for a thing of value that we have lost; or as the merchantman that seeks goodly pearls. Knock, as he that desires to enter into the house knocks at the door. Sin has shut and barred the door against us; by prayer we knock. Whatever you pray for, according to the promise, shall be given you, if God see it fit for you, and what would you have more?"

Truly amazing. And great words from Matthew Henry that I will surely be carrying into my lunch break prayer time tonight. God is good, and he is honoring my efforts to stay on this path. It's not easy, because I am one of the most undisciplined people on the planet. But it's working for my good.



Father, I praise you for the words that you are bringing to me this week. You are faithfuly to provide spiritual food for me as I look at Scripture and pray over it. I will keep asking. I will keep seeking. And I will keep knocking. I have faith that you will answer and open the door and show me the way.

Thank you, Father.



Ask, seek, knock. Three of the best instructions in all of Scripture.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com