Still Worrying?
2010-05-02

Father, I confess that I allowed depression to get the better of me yesterday. How ironic, right after you gave me some great words on not fearing. But it really got me down yesterday. Forgive me for that, and help me to move on to better day today. I get to worship you with friends and family at Wings of Freedom this morning. How wonderful that will be. And I'm already feeling better than I did yesterday. Lord, I have so much to be thankful for, and just because my current job is ending soon is no reason to get down. There were other factors involved yesterday that will remain private (at least not shared on this forum). The impending loss of job was not the majority of the cause of depression. It was only part of it. But I still believe that you are going to provide and that you have a plan for me. I will continue down the path that you have ordained for me.


Psalm 51:7-12

7 Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. 8 Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones that you have broken rejoice. 9 Hide your face from my sins, and blot out all my iniquities. 10 Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. 11 Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me. 12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.

David acknowledges here that he is incapable of correcting his sin problem on his own. And he not only asks for forgiveness of sin, but he also requests a renewed spirit. He's looking for, if you will, psychological healing. He also pleads with God to not take the Holy Spirit from him. Perhaps he remembers the fate of Saul? Saul forfeited the blessings of God and lived out the remainder of his life in spiritual exile.

"I also need a deep work of God in my life. Like David, I yearn for radical spiritual surgery - cleansing, restoration, a purified heart, the transforming power of the Holy Spirit, and the antidepressant of being filled with the joy of my salvation!" (From A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen)



Luke 12:22

And he said to his disciples, "Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat, nor about your body, what you will put on.

"An eager, anxious pursuit of the things of this world, even necessary things, does not become the disciple of Christ. Fears must not prevail; when we frighten ourselves with thoughts of evil to come, and put ourselves upon needless cares how to avoid it. If we value the beauty of holiness, we shall not crave the luxuries of life." (From Matthew Henry Daily Readings)

"If we value the beauty of holiness, we shall not crave the luxuries of life."

Wow. That is a great statement. Oddly enough, we just talked about the corresponding passage in Matthew's gospel last Sunday morning in Bible Study. Obviously, God still has some things to say to me about this.



John 6:5-7

5 Lifting up his eyes, then, and seeing that a large crowd was coming toward him, Jesus said to Philip, "Where are we to buy bread, so that these people may eat?" 6 He said this to test him, for he himself knew what he would do. 7 Philip answered him, "Two hundred denarii would not buy enough bread for each of them to get a little."

Here is a practical application of the passage from Luke, cited above. Right before Jesus performs a miracle, he looks at the massive crowd of people, and then motions to Phillip. I can almost see the twinkle in Jesus's eyes as he asks Phillip, "Where are we going to get enough bread to feed these people?" I wish that I could have seen Phillip's face. Did he sputter with disbelief? I'm sure his response was not nearly as stoic as our Scriptures seem to make it. But his response was purely in the physical realm, too. "Are you kidding? 200 denarii would not buy enough!" That's roughly half a year's salary for the average working man. Translated into modern times...somewhere around $15,000 dollars! Maybe a little less, but you still get the picture.

But Jesus's question really had nothing to do with buying bread, did it? He was simply testing Phillip's faith. Trying to get him to think "outside the box." We all know how this story ends. Jesus shakes the foundations of everything they believe in by taking a small child's sack lunch and feeding over 5000 people with it, and having enough left over to feed the disciples for a few days.

"Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat, nor about your body, what you will put on." (Luke 12:22 again)

Right? Right.



Father, I thank you for these words of encouragement, right on the heels of a day of drastic depression. It was terribly wrong for me to allow this depression to control me yesterday. I see your words of encouragement and admonishment. I will not allow fear of the future to creep in and control my life. For one thing, what the future holds for me is a glorious inheritance in a new creation in heaven! And I certainly don't mind if you need to keep reminding me of this. Whatever you need to say to me, I will hear gladly and receive it.

I also pray that I will never get to a point where I don't see the need for your forgiveness. I will never be completely free from sin until this mortal body is done. That is one of the reasons that I so look forward to heaven. I can't wait for the day when I am no longer tempted to sin. In fact, I really can't even fathom what that will be like. But I know that it will be glorious.

I pray for a good morning of worship today. Let the people praise you! Let all the people praise you!



"Why should I worry?
Why should I fret?
I've got a Mansion Builder
Who ain't through with me yet!" (Second Chapter of Acts)

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com