Love and Joy, Not Fear and Hatred
2010-04-30

Father, I thank you for leading me down the path I'm taking. I pray for more direction and wisdom as I go. I also pray for more discipline and strength to stay on the path. I am very grateful for good friends, brothers and sisters, and Family. I pray for even more of a sense of Family amongst believers as we "see the day approaching." I especially thank you for bringing Phillipp Scott into my life at YRC Logistics. What a great friend and brother! I pray for his path after our jobs end, as well.


Psalm 50:16-23

16 But to the wicked God says: "What right have you to recite my statutes or take my covenant on your lips? 17 For you hate discipline, and you cast my words behind you. 18 If you see a thief, you are pleased with him, and you keep company with adulterers. 19 "You give your mouth free rein for evil, and your tongue frames deceit. 20 You sit and speak against your brother; you slander your own mother's son. 21 These things you have done, and I have been silent; you thought that I was one like yourself. But now I rebuke you and lay the charge before you. 22 "Mark this, then, you who forget God, lest I tear you apart, and there be none to deliver! 23 The one who offers thanksgiving as his sacrifice glorifies me; to one who orders his way rightly I will show the salvation of God!"

This was a Psalm of Asaph, and was written to Israel. They were, essentially, being hypocrites, claiming belief in God's law, but going even beyond basic disobedience, to the point of even supporting dihonesty and adultery (just to name two). They even went so far as to defame their own families.

And since God had been silent for so long, Israel assumed he was okay with all this.

In this Psalm, he lets them know he most definitely is NOT.

Don Wyrtzen has this to say: "It isn't enough for me to have a thorough knowledge of the truth. I must cultivate intimacy with the Lord. Otherwise, all I will have is an empty religion rather than a transforming relationship." (From A Musician Looks At the Psalms)

What form does this "empty religion" take? Perhaps it preaches about "love" while protesting at funerals. Perhaps it insists upon personal "rights" while casting hatred upon foreigners. 2 Timothy 3:5 says that it has the appearance of godliness while denying its power. James says that it can't control its tongue (uhoh...better check that). James also says, "If a brother or sister is poorly clothed and lacking in daily food, and one of you says to them, 'Go in peace, be warmed and filled,' without giving them the things needed for the body, what good is that? So also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead." (Just insert "empty" in the place of "dead." Pretty much the same thing.)

Where is the Church headed? Is it headed down a path of comfortable entitlement, thinking it deserves God's blessings and riches? I recently joined a Facebook group called "Stop Using Religion To Spread Hate." Isn't it a pity that someone even had to form a group like that?

Now...just by way of disclaimer (or whatever), just because I believe someone is not destined for heaven in their current state does NOT mean that I hate them. Sometimes people mistake disagreement for hatred. I am not being judgmental just because I might disagree with you. But the way I express that disagreement says everything. And I will be the first to admit that sometimes, my tongue sets off on a course of its own (see comment from James above...). I'm working on that. My current "spiritual journey" should have some drastic effects on those things.

Ok...moving on.



Psalm 34:8

Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him!

From Matthew Henry Daily Readings:

"God�s gracious visits usually meet us in the way of duty, and to those who use what they have for others� benefit, more shall be given. This interview with Christ was unexpected; but Christ was nigh them, and still is nigh us in the word. The salutation speaks the good-will of Christ to man, even since he entered upon his state of exaltation. It is the will of Christ that his people should be a cheerful, joyful people, and his resurrection furnishes them with abundant matter for joy. Be not afraid. Christ arose from the dead, to silence his people�s fears, and there is enough in that to silence them. The disciples had just before shamefully deserted him in his sufferings; but, to show that he could forgive, and to teach us to do so, he calls them brethren. Notwithstanding his majesty and purity, and our meanness and unworthiness, he still condescends to call believers his brethren. Being the First-begotten from the dead, he is become the First-born among many brethren, even of all that are planted together in the likeness of his resurrection. Christ did not now converse so constantly and familiarly with his disciples as he had done before his death; but, lest they should think him grown strange to them, he gives them this endearing title. Being all his brethren, they were brethren to one another, and must love as brethren. His owning them as his brethren put a great honor upon them, but withal gave them an example of humility in the midst of that honor." (From commentary on Matthew 28:9-10)

We "must love as brethren." We are to be "cheerful, joyful people." And Christ's resurrection should be enough to silence our fears! Yes and amen!



Father, I pray that I will, from this day forward, never again use my tongue as an instrument of evil or hatred. I pray that I might, as James commands, control my tongue, so that there would be no doubt of my love for you. Let me never be guilty of "using religion to spread hate." My God, this should NEVER be! We are supposed to be LOVING people! Let your love shine through all of us who are called believers! And expose those who use your blessed name to spread their agenda of hatred!

I am honored to be called a brother of Christ. Both honored and humbled, Father, for I do not deserve such honor. I pray that I might live a life worthy of such honor. I also pray that I might be cheerful and joyful. I also pray that the truth of the resurrection of Christ will suffice to drown all of my fears in life.

Thank you again for taking me on this journey. I pray that the outcome will be glorifying to you.



Don't hate. Fear not. "Don't worry, be happy." Okay...that may be a little simplistic. But we CAN be cheerful and joyful. Christ is risen! What do we have to fear?

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com