Unconditional Love
2010-04-23

Lord, I'm kind of reeling from the news I got last night. So the job I've had for almost 15 years will be over in a month or so. I'm not freaking out, though, because I know you are in control. I just never know for sure if I'm going to like what you have in mind. But it doesn't really matter, because it's all about you, not me. So I'm trusting that you have something planned for me.


Psalm 48:9-11

9 We have thought on your steadfast love, O God, in the midst of your temple.
10 As your name, O God, so your praise reaches to the ends of the earth. Your right hand is filled with righteousness.

This steadfast, neverending love of God is unconditional. The word in Hebrew is hesed, and pretty much means the same thing as the Greek word agape. "God loves us no matter what, no strings attached. His love is unconditional and persistent." Do you often feel like you have to earn the love of others? God is not like that. You CAN'T earn his love! It is entirely based on his grace. And that is truly "good news."
(Quotes from A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen)



Father, this is great news for me, today. Even though I don't doubt your love for me, it is always comforting to know that it is, indeed, unconditional, never based on my performance. I pray that I can even have a small part of that kind of love toward people. I know I can never achieve perfect love. Only you can do that. But I can try to love people with your love, and work towards a more unconditional type of human love. If that's even possible.

Thank you for your love. And thank you that you have a plan for me, which I will graciously accept. Mostly I pray that I will not become despondent over the situation. Let my faith remain strong.



Remember, brothers and sisters, God loves you with an everlasting and unconditional love. There is nothing you can do to make him love you more, and there is nothing you can do to make him love you less.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com