Grace
2010-04-22

Father, teach me something this afternoon. What do I need to learn? You've already taught me some humility today. Let's don't work on that one any more today...Heh.


Psalm 136:23

It is he who remembered us in our low estate, for his steadfast love endures forever.

From Matthew Henry Daily Readings, commentary on 2 John 1-3

"From the divine Persons of the Godhead, the apostle craves grace, divine favor, and good-will, the spring of all good things. It is grace indeed that any spiritual blessing should be given to sinful mortals. What the apostle craves from these divine persons: grace - divine favor and good-will, the spring of all good things: it is grace indeed that any spiritual blessing should be conferred on sinful mortals. Mercy - free pardon and forgiveness; those who are already rich in grace have need of continual forgiveness. Peace - tranquility of spirit and serenity of conscience, in an assured reconciliation with God, together with all safe and sanctified outward prosperity."

What marvelous grace is bestowed upon us! Hallelujah!



Father I am so thankful for the grace that you have seen fit to "confer on sinful mortals." I am one of those sinful mortals. Help me to see my sin for what it is; falling short of your ideal. Let me not be guilty of ever comparing myself to someone else. I stand before you on my own. I can point at no one else and say, "He's worse than me." It doesn't matter. Like the apostle mentioned above, I crave your grace, mercy and peace. I drink from your fountain and then share that drink with all around me. May I be a dispenser of grace. May I know your peace. May I live in your mercy.

Thank you, Father. Hallelujah.



Ponder his grace in your life today. I guarantee you can find some somewhere.

Grace and peace, friends



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com