Alone With God
2010-04-14

Lord, once again, I find myself with not a lot of time this afternoon. However, I am still meditating on what you gave me yesterday. I'm wondering how this new sense of community and family is going to flesh itself out in my life and in my relationships. I've already enlisted a friend at work to keep me accountable on one thing. Keep me focused on this one, Father.


A worthy prayer from Don Wyrtzen in A Musician Looks At the Psalms, in response to Psalm 45:1.

"Lord, give me a vision of Your Son that will set my heart on fire. Then my songs and my writing will burn with joy, praise and beauty."

Amen.



"Christ departed into a solitary place. Though he was in no danger of distraction, or of temptation to vain-glory, yet he retired. Those who have the most business in public, and of the best kind, must yet sometimes be alone with God..."~~Matthew Henry Daily Readings

If even Jesus Christ needed time alone with the Father, how much more do we fallible humans need it? We are distracted and tempted. We get weary. We need the refreshing of some "Daddy" time.



Father, keep me coming back to you in these times. There have been many things that have kept me away from my devotions. My desire is to be much more consistent with them, to be meditating and talking to you on a daily basis. I have a lot of work to do in that area. But you don't let us go, ever. I get great comfort in that, because, no matter how much I fail, you've still got your hand on me. I praise you for that.

Help me to love the family more. This thing you've put in my heart yesterday...this conviction about family and community...work that out in me. Make it reality in my life.



Find some time to get alone with God. He's got all the time in the world.

Grace and peace, friends.



2 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com