The Light Of Your Face
2010-04-11

Father, it's been a pretty nice weekend, although not very restful. Plus, I find myself short on time for my devotions because of other plans. Somehow, I need to work around this, so that I'm more consistent. That really bothers me.


Psalm 44:1-3

1 O God, we have heard with our ears, our fathers have told us, what deeds you performed in their days, in the days of old:
2 you with your own hand drove out the nations, but them you planted; you afflicted the peoples, but them you set free;
3 for not by their own sword did they win the land, nor did their own arm save them, but your right hand and your arm, and the light of your face, for you delighted in them.

I believe it is very important for us to remind ourselves of the miracles that our God has performed in the past. The people of Israel were constantly reminded of the works that God performed on their behalf. It is good for us to look back at these, as well. Even if I have seen no great miracles in my lifetime (I have seen some that I consider "lesser" miracles, but miracles, nevertheless), I can regain confidence and trust by reminding myself of these great miracles.

One thing that I note in verse three of the passage. Not only was it God's right hand and arm that won the land for the people of Israel, but also "the light of your face." That line captivates my attention. The light of God's face was key in Israel's conquering of Canaan. The light of God's face is key in my overcoming in my life.

Here is what Don Wyrtzen has to say: "What is the secret of effectiveness and power for me today? I must choose not to live independently of God, but make Him central in my life. I must resist an easy, casual commitment to Christ, but reflect in my daily walk the personality of the One whose Name I bear. That Name will give me the power to withstand temptation, endure criticism, and witness boldly."

I also believe this to be true. I must make him the central point of my life, and gaze constantly on the light of his face. What a beautiful light that is!



Father, it is my desire to look upon your face. While I realize that I cannot truly see it until I am fully in your presence after this life is over, I still can spiritually gaze upon it and see this light that so inspired the psalmist to write. The light of your face is what shows us your delight in us. The light of your face is what inspires us to continue in the face of impossible odds. The light of your face gives us hope and confidence.

Your right hand and arm are strong for us, just as they were for the children of Israel. Keep me focused this week, Father, on these things.



Pray for the people of Poland this week, in the wake of the tragedy that took their president from them.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com