Reality Check
2010-03-30

Lord, we continue to thank you for Stephanie's great behavior, lately. She had another really good day today. We will keep praying that this continues.


Psalm 39:4-6

4 O LORD, make me know my end and what is the measure of my days; let me know how fleeting I am!
5 Behold, you have made my days a few handbreadths, and my lifetime is as nothing before you.
Surely all mankind stands as a mere breath!
6 Surely a man goes about as a shadow!
Surely for nothing they are in turmoil; man heaps up wealth and does not know who will gather!

What a reality check! How important do we think we are? Don Wyrtzen says this: "Our busyness makes us think we are more important than we really are. Yet in all of our bustle and activity, we are still mere phantoms. We have little control over the destiny of our heaped-up wealth. Our lifespan is nothing before God. And life itself is empty without Him."

I think the best barometer for this is celebrity status. How our society has lost its way! We magnify and glorify these people as if they are someone important. The whole concept of "reality TV" (what a misnomer) has created these monsters that truly believe that they are important people (Heidi/Spencer, Kate Gosselin, Kardashians). These people are nobodies, yet we have elevated them, and for what reason? They have no talents. They have no skills. They are not actors (Gosselin is certainly not a dancer!). They are nothing. Just like you and me.

In the grand scheme of things, we are all nothing more than a vapor. We work and work and work, and for what? So that everything can turn back to dust when its all said and done.

David had figured this out. He wasn't asking for God to tell him how he was going to die, or even how long he was going to live. He was asking God for perspective! "Show me the measure of my days. Show me how fleeting I am. Let me understand that I am nothing more than a mist that blows away with even the gentlest of breezes!"

And the point of all of this is not to make us feel bad about ourselves. Rather, it is to keep us from feeling more important than we really are. It is, perhaps, even to save us some suffering in life. If we understand that "all flesh is grass," and that "it's all gonna burn," then we don't worry quite so much about things that

SIMPLY

DON'T

MATTER.

What does matter? People matter. Souls matter. How people relate to Jesus matters. And how we relate to each other matters. We are supposed to love our neighbor as we love ourselves. And, more importantly, we are supposed to love each other (I'm speaking of believers, here) as Christ loved us. That raises the stakes quite a bit, because Christ DIED for us!

So. I am fleeting. My life is nothing before God. I need to get over myself. We all need to get over ourselves.



Jumping right into this topic is Matthew Henry. In his commentary on Psalm 119:65-72, he says this: "However God has dealt with us, he has dealth with us better than we deserve, and all in love and for our good. Many have knowledge, but little judgment; those who have both are fortified against the snares of Satan, and furnished for the service of God. We are most apt to wander from God, when we are easy in the world. We should leave our concerns to the disposal of God, seeing we know not what is good for us. Lord, you are our bountiful Benefacor; incline our hearts to faith and obedience. The psalmist will go on in his duty with constancy and resolution. The proud are full of the world, and its wealth and pleasures; these make them senseless, secure, and stupid."

Heheh. Henry doesn't pull any punches, does he? But how many would bristle at his first statement? How often have we heard those who would teach us that we deserve all of God's blessings? What we deserve is eternal punishment. But God, in his great mercy, has given us grace. And mercy and grace are all about what we don't deserve.

Hallelujah!



Father, thank you for mercy. Thank you for grace! I thank you that I did not get what I deserved, and that you give me what I do not deserve. Let me never think that I am more than I am. Keep my perspective on track. Let me, like David, understand that my life is fleeting, and nothing more than a vapor. And let me use that brief life to its fullest to glorify you in all that I do. Let me not waste any more of it.


This whole thing is not to make us feel bad or miserable, or to start having pity parties. I actually am glad that I'm nothing. It takes a lot of pressure off, you know? The truth still remains that we are loved. We are greatly loved. That is why we have received blessings that we did not deserve.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com