Don't Forget To Pray
2010-03-23

Father, I want to thank you for a couple of pretty good days so far this week. Stephanie has had two pretty good days at school, in spite of her mild sore throat. I missed our meeting yesterday, because I had to do grocery shopping after school. Not really a good excuse, though.


The PPT site has not updated prayer requests since last Thursday. However, today was a landmark day for our nation, regardless of how you feel about it. We need to be in constant prayer for our president and congress, that they would make decisions that would be best for our country.

Father, I lift up President Obama and Congress to you this afternoon. They are under unimaginable pressure at all times, and I don't know that most of us truly understand that. We are all so quick to judge and criticize, but, honestly, I would not want to be in their shoes at all. I pray that they would seek your wisdom in all things. I know that there are some in our government that are believers. I pray that they would have influence over those that are not. But the bottom line is, and always will be, that you are in complete control of everything that happens. Therefore, I will not be surprised by anything that comes about as a result of our government's decisions and policies. I will continue to pray for them, and ask that you would guide them and that they would heed your words.



Psalm 37:25-26,30-31

25 I have been young, and now am old, yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken or his children begging for bread.
26 He is ever lending generously, and his children become a blessing.

30 The mouth of the righteous utters wisdom, and his tongue speaks justice.
31 The law of his God is in his heart; his steps do not slip.

That last verse speaks volumes. If God is my God, his words should be etched on my heart. That would keep my steps from slipping. That would keep me from straying off the path. I need to get to work on that part.

I've often been troubled by verse 25. I mean...we've all seen some of God's children who are not over-run with material blessings. And yes...I have seen some of God's people have to beg for bread. So I'm not sure of the true meaning of that verse. I do believe that, as those who have the righteousness of Christ, we are never forsaken. And the Lord will, ultimately, provide for our needs.

Don Wyrtzen, in A Musician Looks At the Psalms sheds a small amount of light on it. "My security and wealth don't lie in uncertain riches but in the Lord Himself. Therefore, I'm able to give and lend constantly, and I can be a lasting blessing to society through the family that I lead. What a comfort to know that even though I experience ups and downs, the Lord's hand holds me steady! The Lord Himself establishes my steps and delights in my lift. He makes harmony out of my life."

Yes. God makes harmony out the cacophony of sounds that is my life.



Matthew Henry makes a bold statement that is worthy of consideration in the reading for March 22 (yesterday). "Let none expect benefit by the prayers of the church, or their friends, who are capable of praying for themselves and yet neglect it."

Ouch! While I reject the popular philosophy that "God helps those who help themselves," I think there might be measure of truth to that statement. Dare we constantly be asking the Church and friends to pray for our situations if we are not praying for them ourselves?? Food for thought.



Lord, I thank you that you have chosen to bless my family and me. I pray for your blessings on all believers, throughout the world. These are troubled times, and many people are struggling. We even feel on edge, knowing that tomorrow, we might not have jobs to go to. The world is in such a drastic time of instability. In a way, I welcome this, because it seems to lend credence to the thought that your return is imminent. And we do pray for your return, Lord. We long for our reward.

Father, keep me praying. Let me never fall prey to the trap of expecting others to pray for me and mine, if I am not being faithful to do the same. I need to pray more. My prayer life is severely lacking. This brief time each day is not sufficient. Holy Spirit, draw me into prayer more often.

I pray for Christi and Stephanie for tomorrow. They have an appointment with the Tarrant County MHMR services for an evaluation to see what types of services Stephanie will have available to her. I'm praying that some good will come out of this.

I thank you that Steph seems to be doing well these days. Every good day that we have is a blessing.



Always pray. For yourself and for others. Many of us neglect to pray for ourselves, thinking it selfish. But God desires it. He commands it. He tells us to intercede for others, but he also tells us to pray for our own needs. Let us not neglect that.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com