Delight Yourself In the Lord
2010-03-21

Thank you, Lord, for a good day yesterday, even if it was somewhat surreal. We had snow for the first day of spring, a successful moving venture for Rachel and Justin, and a lost dog that was found and retrieved. Your grace is enough.


Psalm 37:3-8

3 Trust in the LORD, and do good; dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.
4 Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

5 Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him, and he will act.
6 He will bring forth your righteousness as the light, and your justice as the noonday.

7 Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him; fret not yourself over the one who prospers in his way, over the man who carries out evil devices!

8 Refrain from anger, and forsake wrath! Fret not yourself; it tends only to evil.

This is another one of my favorite Psalm passages. Verse 4 has been one my memorized verses for many years. However, I have never used to to promote "health and wealth" as some would do. I tend to see it saying that if I delight myself in the Lord, he will mold the desires of my heart. Yes, he will give them to me...meaning he will place the correct desires in my heart. Not that he will give me whatever I want. He will affect what I want.

Also noteworthy is the reference made twice to "fret not." We are told not to worry about what evil men accomplish. So what if they appear successful! What else do they have, and what will be their final result? Also, we are to "refrain from anger, and forsake wrath." These are not healthy qualities for a child of God.

The last thing to note (not in order, mind you) is that we are told to "be still" and "wait." This runs counter to popular church philosophy that says we must always be "doing." Never mind what. If we don't feel God telling us to do something, we just make it up so we don't feel idle. Well...God tells us that sometimes we need to be idle. I'm a firm believer that we should never do anything until we feel God's leadership. If that means sitting on our...hands...(heh) for a time, then so be it. Perhaps there is something for us to be learning during this time of being still and waiting.

This passage of the Psalms has some very good instruction from King David. We would do well to follow his steps in our lives.



Father, sadly, this is all I have time for today, but it is a good portion to chew on. I pray for wisdom as I meditate on the passage that you sent to me today. Let me know when it is time to be still before you and wait. Let me know when it is time to move and do.

I pray for the desires of your heart to become the desire of mine. Help me to delight in you more. This delight should be something that springs forth from my spirit naturally. Let that be true in my life. It should also be constant. Not just something that pops up when I'm worshiping or praising you. It should be daily, hourly, minute by minute...my life should be a delight of you.

Your grace is enough, Lord. I praise your name and worship you! Let your grace flow down over me and overflow onto people who come into contact with me.



Off now to meet with other believers and worship our Father.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com