Stand In Awe
2010-03-06

Lord, it's been another pretty stressful week, and once again, I failed to turn to you in the most stressful times. For example, yesterday afteroon, after a major meltdown with Steph on the way home from school, instead of turning to your words for comfort and strength, I played a stupid computer game for an hour. What good did that do me? I'll admit, it did calm me down, but, other than that, it was worthless waste of time. I'm sorry, Father. I have to change my responses to these things. And Stephanie's behavior has not been good the last few days.


Here's a prayer from the PPT site.

Palestinians Finally Agree to Talks with Israel

Israeli and American officials welcomed an Arab League decision reached in Cairo on Wednesday approving indirect Israeli-Palestinian talks for four months as a means of getting the peace process on track. Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu said that it appeared �conditions were now ripe� for renewing negotiations.In a speech to the Knesset, he said that as a result of Israel both expressing a willingness to return to talks and taking concrete measures on the ground to make them happen, fewer countries were willing to agree to Palestinian preconditions to the talks. Abbas has said for months that he will not talk with Israel unless there is first a complete halt to Jewish construction in the West Bank and east Jerusalem. The green light given Abbas by the Arab League to the Arab peace initiative to enter into indirect talks for four months is widely seen as the �ladder� he needed to come down from his demands and accede to repeated requests by the US, EU, Egypt and Jordan to return to talks.

Pray for the safety of our soldiers fighting for freedom in Afghanistan. Pray for courage of the families that support them.
Pray for peace in Israel. Pray for protection from the nuclear ambitions of the state of Iran.



Psalm 33:8-9

Let all the earth fear the LORD;
let all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of him!
For he spoke, and it came to be;
he commanded, and it stood firm.

Along with the author of A Musician Looks At the Psalms, I find comfort in order and design. (You wouldn't know it if you looked at my "study.") As he says, "I find security in knowing that God has a specific plan for the universe--and one for my life, too."

As this Psalm seems to indicate, only the Lord's plans stand firm. What he commands will take place and will not be shaken.

Wouldn't it be great if "all the inhabitants of the world" stood in awe before God?



Father, I, for one, stand in awe before you. I am comforted by knowing that your plans stand firm, when all the earth around me appears to shake. But I know that even an 8.8 earthquake in Chile does not shake your plans. In fact, for whatever reason, it must have been part of your plan, and I can accept that, too.

"You are beautiful beyond description
Too marvelous for word
Too wonderful for comprehension
Like nothing ever seen or heard
Who can grasp your infinite wisdom
Who can fathom the depths of your love
You are beautiful beyond description
Majest enthroned above
And I stand in awe of you..."



I pray that all who read this will willfully stand in awe of God at some point in their lives. Because, there will be a day when ALL will bow before the Lord of the universe, willfully or not. Better for us if it is because we desire to.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com