God WILL Give Me More Than I Can Handle!
2010-02-22

Father, I'm trying to make this a different week than the last two. I'm determined to get to a more intimate level of relationship with you. I pray for the Holy Spirit's guidance and inspiration.


Psalm 28:9

Oh, save your people and bless your heritage!
Be their shepherd and carry them forever.

In the final verse of Psalm 28, David prays for salvation, blessing and sustenance for the people of Israel. As we consider the Church of today, which is, in effect, "Israel," this is a good prayer for us to voice. We should be praying daily for God's people. We should pray for salvation, because not all of God's chosen people are saved yet. If they were, Jesus would be returning right now. We should pray for blessings for God's people. We need his blessings to carry out his work. And we need to be carried by him. Seriously. We cannot do this on our own.

Recently, my wife and a friend at her job were discussing something that has become a common phrase among Christians in the past decade or so. "God will not give you more than you can handle."

Oh, really?

Are you sure about that?

They discussed the fact that that sentiment is nowhere to be found in the Bible. Don't believe me? Try to find it.

The point is, if God didn't give us more than we could handle, why would we need him???

Think about it. We desperately need God. Because LIFE is more than we can handle!

You all know the struggles we have been through with Stephanie over the past few years. If I had not had God in those times, I would be in a padded cell somewhere right now. I'm not joking, either. I would have had severe nervous breakdowns, and probably be mentally worthless. But God sustained us, even when it felt like he wasn't there!! I have been so close to giving up multiple times, but God reached down and reassured me that he is always there.

Yes, this is certainly more than I can handle. Absolutely, it is.

That's why I need my shepherd to carry me.



Father, I need you to carry me. All the time. I'm to weak to make this journey on my own. I am very aware of this. I praise you that you have never abandoned us, even though there were times I felt like you had. I confess those times as sin, and ask your forgiveness for doubting you.

I also pray that you forgive us for saying things about you that aren't true, because we do that a lot. We, as a people, tend to make up things that make us feel good. But that is not what you are about. You are about glorifying your own name, and sometimes that doesn't make us "feel good." We need to be focused on the same thing that you are focused on. Help us to do that, both as individuals and as the Church.

Lord, I pray for Justin's speedy recovery, as he has, apparently, just gotten out of surgery. I pray that everything went well, and that he is ok. I pray that he will be released quickly and be able to rest well at home. Give extra grace and strength to Rachel as she cares for him and tries to keep other responsibilities, as well. I pray that she will lean on you.



It's ok to admit that we are weak. As the song "Sweet Mercies" says, "It's our confession, Lord, that we are weak. So very weak, but you are strong."

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com