Integrity: Perfection or Confession?
2010-02-12

Lord, I pray for your wisdom today, and that I would learn something from you as I read your words today.


I did have one other devotional this week, but due to a mis-click in the browser, it was eaten when I was about halfway through. I couldn't try to reconstruct everything I had typed, so I just finished it without journaling it.


Here's a prayer point from the PPT site.

President Obama to Create Deficit Commission
White House Press Secretary Robert Gibbs said President Obama will issue an executive order in the next 10 days to create a commission that would make recommendations to Congress on how to lower the deficit. The commission was part of a plan for a $1.9 trillion increase in the debt ceiling, which Congress passed this month. The panel�s proposals are expected to be submitted to Congress after the November elections, so Congress can act on them before the end of the year, panel supporters have said.

Pray for favor on the new national commssion to attack the deficit so that our economic recovery is hastened.



Psalm 26:1-2

Vindicate me, O LORD, for I have walked in integrity, and I have trusted in the LORD without wavering.
Prove me, O LORD, and try me; test my heart and my mind.

How many of us would be brave enough to ask God to test our hearts and minds. I know what's in my mind, so I'm not thinking I would want God to "test" it. He might wrap it in a straitjacket and put it in a padded room...

According to the author of A Musician Looks At the Psalms, David's "life had not been dominated by ulterior motives, nor had he played political games." I'm not sure I can agree 100% with that statement. There were sure plenty of political games and ulterior motives during that mess with Bathsheba. And what about the period in which he was siding with the Phlistines while Saul was king? What about the games he played with Saul while he was hiding from him in the wilderness? And let's don't forget the big mess involving David's son, Absalom.

David wasn't perfect. Far from it. But the important thing to remember about David (I once read a statement about him that said he broke every single one of the ten commandments during his lifetime) was that, in spite of his imperfections, he loved God with a passion that wouldn't quit. He was described as a "man after God's own heart." How many of us can be described that way? David, in spite of his sins, knew that his heart was leaning in the right direction. He lived in integrity before God, because he kept his heart clean. He always owned up to his mistakes. Confession of sin leads to forgiveness of sin and restoration. And that is why David could describe himself as walking in integrity and trusting God without wavering.

We don't seek perfection. But we can seek God's face and keep ourselves on the level before him.



Father, keep me clean before you. I know that my sins are cleansed and forgiven, but I always need to be mindful of the fact that my mind and heart are open books before you. Let me never try to hide anything from you (it's impossible, so why try?), and let me always own up to my mistakes. I pray that my motivation would be enhanced by your spirit. I am too comfortable just getting by, Lord. I need a creative kick in the pants. Your Spirit has inspired me in the past. I desire more of that. Not so I can achieve any kind of fame or anything like that. I just want to know that I am using my talents to your glory, rather than letting them sit and get stale.

My desire is to be a man after your own heart, as David was. I've certainly sinned as much as he did. Except for killing someone to try to hide a sin...never did that.

So go ahead, Father, and "test" my heart and my mind. And correct what you find there that does not meet your specifications.

I thank you and praise you for your grace today, God. I thank you for the beautiful snow covering that we are experiencing.

I also pray, Lord, for Melinda and Russel and their baby girl. God, protect that child. Let her stay in her mother's womb as long as she can, and let your power be known through this. Some say that there's no way the baby can survive if born this early. I say, you are a God who nullifies "no way." There is no "no way" with you, God.



If you have to get out today, and you live where there has been snow...please be very careful. Y'all are my friends, and I care about you and would like to have you around for a while longer.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com