Who Is This King of Glory?
2010-02-07

Father, this is going to be brief this morning. I've spent too much time doing other things. Part of it was for church, admittedly, but still...


Here's a prayer from the Presidential Prayer Team site.

Prayer for America
Heavenly Father, we see, in the midst of all the issues we face as a nation, You are working in everything. Thank You Lord, for not forgetting us. Thank You for calling us Your children. We ask that You work in the hearts of congress this week. Guide their attention to solve issues together in ways that will glorify You alone. Let us ALL be a people that glorifies Your name in this country. In Jesus� name, Amen.

(Small disclaimer..."Thank You for calling us Your children" to me means all Christians, not just America.)



A Musician Looks At the Psalms

Psalm 24 Lift up your heads, O gates!
And lift them up, O ancient doors, that the King of glory may come in.
Who is this King of glory?
The LORD of hosts, he is the King of glory! Selah
(Verses 9-10)

What a scene of spectacular worship this must have been! May we be able to worship him with the same vitality and fervor! Let us be excited by the presence of the Lord, while others are "embalmed by lifeless liturgy!"



Matthew Henry Daily Readings

So if there is any encouragement in Christ, any comfort from love, any participation in the Spirit, any affection and sympathy, complete my joy by being of the same mind, having the same love, being in full accord and of one mind. (Philippians 2:1-2)

The example of our Lord Jesus Christ is set before us. We must resemble him in his life, if we would have the benefit of his death. Notice the two natures of Christ; his divine nature, and human nature. Who being in the form of God, partaking the divine nature, as the eternal and only-begotten Son of God (John 1:1), had not thought it a robbery to be equal with God, and to receive divine worship from men. His human nature; herein he became like us in all things except sin. Thus low, of his own will, he stooped from the glory he had with the Father before the world was. Christ's two states, of humiliation and exaltation, are noticed. Christ not only took upon him the likeness and fashion, or form of a man, but of one in a low state; not appearing in splendor. His whole life was a life of poverty and suffering. But the lowest step was his dying the death of the cross, the death of a malefacor and a slave; exposed to public hatred and scorn. The exaltation was of Christ's human nature, in union with the divine. At the name of Jesus, not the mere sound of the word, but the authority of Jesus, all should pay solemn homage. It is to the glory of God the Father, to confess that Jesus Christ is Lord; for it is his will, that all men should honor the Son as they honor the Father (John 5:23). Here we see such motives to self-denying love as nothing esle can supply. Do we thus love and obey the Son of God?



Father, I rejoice that I will be one of the ones who will willfully bow down and proclaim that Jesus is Lord in that day! There will be many who will do so, but not of their own "free will." But, yet, I find that my love for the Son is lacking. It is far from adequate, Father. I pray that you would increase my love for Jesus and my obedience of him. He went through more pain and suffering than any human would ever endure for my sake. I know of no one who would do this for me. No one other than Jesus. I give you praise for this, Father. Jesus, I thank you.

Lord, as we gather to worship this morning, there will be no bands of instruments, there will be no huge choirs. But there will be pure hearts, made pure by the blood of the Lamb. I pray that there will be excitement as we gather in your presence. We know that we are always in your presence, and there is nothing particularly special about the place where we meet this morning. But there is something special about meeting with other believers and worshiping you together with them.

Let me lead effectively this morning. Let me worship you. Let my focus be on worshiping you, not on my "performance."

I pray for peace this week, Lord. Let it be a week of peace.



I pray that all who read this will worship God this morning, with excitement and life in their hearts and spirits.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com