The LORD Is My Shepherd
2010-01-29

I wasn't going to do this today. I really don't feel like it, Lord. As you know, it's been a bit of a tought afternoon. But I can't sit here and ignore the one thing that I know I need most, and that is some time with you. So here goes. Please speak to me this afternoon. And please help Stephanie.


Here's today's prayer from the Presidential Prayer Team site.

President�s Budget Freeze Has Mixed Outlook

Congress will enact President Barack Obama�s proposed three-year spending freeze on some government programs, House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer predicted yesterday. But he did not think the freeze should be extended to the military programs that make up a larger portion of the budget, contradicting remarks earlier in the day by House Speaker Nancy Pelosi. Hoyer agreed with Obama, who in his State of the Union speech to Congress on Wednesday proposed the freeze only for some domestic programs. �I would be much more reticent in looking at spending on our national security, because I think that we need to make sure we have the funds to get the job done,� Hoyer said in a phone interview.

Pray for an economic recovery in America to relieve the financial burden and restore jobs to millions of unemployed families.



A Musician Looks At the Psalms

Psalm 23 The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.

This is arguably the most well known passage in the Bible, with the possible exception of John 3:16. "It comforts, satisfies, and meets the deepest longings of the human heart."

Who meets our needs? It is the LORD. And when the word "LORD" is in all caps, as it is in Psalm 23, it is referring to the most revered name that we know for God, YHWH. Yahweh. The name that the Jews would not even pronounce out loud.

"'Shepherd' is the most comprehensive and intimate metaphor in the Psalms. The shepherd lives with his flock and is everything to it - guide, physician, and protector."

So, the LORD, Yahweh, the most intimate name for God is my "guide, physician, and protector." He will "fulfill my deepest personal needs." "I will find meaning and true identity in Him. In short, I don't need God plus anything or anyone."

Amen to that!.



Matthew Henry Daily Readings

Psalm 53:1 The fool says in his heart, "There is no God." They are corrupt, doing abominable iniquity; there is none who does good.

"He is a fool (in the account of God, whose judgment we are sure is right) that harbors such corrupt thoughts, such as there is no God. Atheists, whether in opinion or practice, are the greatest fools in the world. Those that do not seek God do not understand;"

"Willful sinners are offensive in the nostrils of the God of heaven and of the holy angels. What decency proud sinners pretend to, it is certain that wickedness is the greatest defilement in the world..."

Strong words from Mr. Henry. But strong words drawn from the writer of the Psalms, which we believe to be inspired by God. And Paul, in Romans, declares that anyone who does not believe in God is without excuse, as God has displayed himself adequately just in the creation alone. Therefore the thought that anyone could believe that there is no God is rather incredulous.



Father, I thank you that you have placed within me the desire to believe in and follow you. The Psalm quoted above states that there is no one who does good. This does not just apply to "atheists," but to all of us. Without your "invasion" into our lives, we would not be following you. Without your touch on my heart, I would have no desire whatsoever to believe in you or to worship you. Therefore, I praise you for making that change in me, and for choosing me to worship you.

I thank you and praise you for being my "shepherd." The intimate relationship that you have with your Church is amazing. It is the most wonderful thing to think that you, the Creator of all that we can see (and much that we cannot see), have established a relationship with us, the creatures. Not only a relationship, but you are our provider and protector, as well. For that, I fall on my knees and worship you. And this worship does not just happen on Sunday morning. I worship you daily, whenever I get a chance. I long for the day when that will be our primary vocation for all eternity. The thought of seeing your face in reality and worshiping you in person thrills my very being.

Thank you for your grace, Lord. Your love for me is not based on my performance. If I had given in to temptation and skipped this time today, you would not love me any less for it. However, I would have suffered because I would have lost this little bit of intimacy, and would not be pondering the truth of your "shepherd-ness" towards us.

I keep praying for Stephanie and that you would heal her mind. She had a tough day, today, Lord. Let us be persistent in praying for her, and help us to control our anger when she gets out of control. I thank you for the many answered prayers that have already happened this week.

As I look forward to Sunday, help me to lead your people in worshiping you.



The LORD is YOUR shepherd. Let him be that to you today. Ponder that relationship and bask in his provision and protection. Go ahead. Be a sheep.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com