Rest
2010-01-30

Lord, as always, I'm asking that you show me something of you this morning as I read and ponder your words. Your words are life. They are like breath to me.


Here's a prayer point from the PPT site.

U.S. Commander Offers Status of Haiti Relief Effort

The United States military is working with the Haitian government to build a temporary medical facility for Haitian earthquake victims recovering from injuries. The Commander of the U.S. Southern Command General Douglas Fraser said yesterday that the facility will have an estimated 3,000 to 5,000 beds and will dramatically improve the capacity of the medical care being provided. He said the U.S. Navy hospital ship, the Comfort, is reaching its care limit as some injuries have required more treatment than anticipated. He said the new facility would give discharged patients the space and time they need to recover. Efforts to supply victims with food are also falling short in some cases. He said though the situation in Haiti is improving, troops are still finding places where more than two weeks after the January 12 quake, relief has not yet arrived. The International Committee of the Red Cross says the situation remains �precarious� for hundreds of thousands of people. The head of the group�s delegation in Haiti, Riccardo Conti, says people in the poorest areas of Port-au-Prince still have pressing needs for shelter, food, health care and sanitation.

Pray for nations around the globe to join in an effort to rebuild the nation to support Haiti�s victims. Pray for shelter, food and water for all those displaced families



A Musician Looks At the Psalms

Psalm 23 He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters. Verse 2

God never intended for us to work nonstop. He "guides us to refreshment and relaxation." I'm a firm believe in this, too. I believe that, as a nation, we work way too hard and for too many hours. It's not healthy, and I believe that it has contributed to the massive amounts of neurosis that our nation suffers from.

We might compare the way a shepherd cares for his flock to the way a father should care for his family. God is both to us. Shepherd and Father.

"I want the Lord to balance my life today, to define my lifestyle and my priorities, to deliver me from neurotic activity and workaholism, and to keep me from trying to meet my own needs through work and achievement instead of through Him."

The author has also included a quote from the man who wrote A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23, Phillip Keller. "It is a staggering fact that Christ, the Creator of an enormous universe of overwhelming magnitude deigns to call Himself my Shepherd and invites me to consider myself His sheep - His special object of affection and attention. Who better could care for me?"

Who better, indeed?



Matthew Henry Daily Readings

Isaiah 45:1 Thus says the LORD to his anointed, to Cyrus, whose right hand I have grasped, to subdue nations before him and to loose the belts of kings, to open doors before him that gates may not be closed:

This verse, I believe, goes along with the beginning of Ezra, when God summons Cyrus to help the cause of Israel.

"The Lord stirred up the spirit Cyrus. Note that the hearts of kings are in the hand of the Lord, and, like the rivulets of water, he turns them which way soever he will. It is said of Cyrus that he knew not God, nor how to serve Him; but God knew him, and how to serve himself by him (Isa. 45:4). God governs the world by his influence on the spirits of men, and, whatever good is done at any time, it is God that stirs up the spirit to do it,, puts thoughts into the mind, gives to the understanding to form a right judgment, and directs the will which way he pleases."

We need to be aware of the fact that God can direct anything to suit his will. Even the hearts of kings. This should give us comfort and increase our faith.



Daily Readings from the Life of Christ

John MacArthur is going through the naming of the apostles. For several days, he has been focusing on Peter.

Today, he speaks of Peter's attitude about sacrifice. Remember in John 21, Jesus had just "restored" Peter. And in verses 18-19, Jesus more or less described how Peter would die. In verse 20, Peter turns around and points at John and says, "Hey, what about him?" Jesus essentially told him, "None of your business. Don't worry about anyone else. Just follow me." (I paraphrased.) This is a good point for all of us. We should never be concerned about how much someone else is blessed or how much we are sacrificing in comparison to someone else. God knows how much each of us can handle. So if someone I know gets a big blessing, I should rejoice with them instead of whining to God about why I didn't get a big blessing, too. Or if I have to sacrifice something, I should not be concerned about why the guy next to me hasn't had to sacrifice. You know what? Maybe he has! Maybe I just don't know about it, right? It's God who is in control, not me. And we are all better off for that!



Lord, I praise you that you are sovereign in your creation. I am glad you are in control, and not me. Always help me to keep from comparing my own circumstances to those around me. Let me not be concerned with who gets what kind of blessing, except that I be rejoicing with them over the blessing. Let us all be supportive of one another in this journey.

I am grateful that you have the hearts of kings in your hands, to direct them however you please. I have faith that you are always directing the events of this world to the end that they fulfill your plan. I know you are "working the plan." And no matter how hopeless things might appear on the surface, we know that, in the end, you are victorious and your will will be accomplished.

I am more than happy to be your sheep, Father. It is, indeed, staggering to think that you desire an intimate relationship with us. I am constantly amazed at this truth. You are so big and I am so small. Why would you even care about us? "What is man that you are mindful of him?" But you are! And we praise you for that.

I pray for the continued relief efforts for the country of Haiti. Let processes be unhindered and let funds and supplies be delivered efficiently and without delay. Comfort the hearts of the survivors with your words, delivered by faithful missionaries. Prevent the enemy from maintaining a foothold in that environment.

I continue to pray for Stephanie's healing. I will hammer at your door, Lord, asking for healing for her mind. You are faithful in all that you do, and I know that you will do whatever you desire. And whatever the outcome of my prayers, I will faithfully accept that. Nevertheless, I will continue to plead for her sake.



Let the great shepherd have control over your life. I've found that it's much easier that way. The more we fight for control, the more we mess things up. Oh. And rest, my friends. Rest. Stop and smell the proverbial roses along the way. Look at the clouds. Find some shapes. Maybe a bunny or something.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com