Our God Provides
2010-01-23

Lord, as I read your words today and prepare for a worship service, I pray that your words would inspire me and fill me with life and joy. Your words truly are "wonderful words of life."


A Musician Looks At the Psalms--Don Wyrtzen

Psalm 19

The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky proclaims his handiwork.~~Verse 1

The law of the LORD is perfect, reviving the soul;
the testimony of the LORD is sure, making wise the simple;
the precepts of the LORD are right, rejoicing the heart;
the commandment of the LORD is pure, enlightening the eyes;
the fear of the LORD is clean enduring forever;
the rules of the LORD are true and righteous altogether.
More to be desired are they than gold, even much fine gold;
sweeter than honey and drippings of the honeycomb.
~~Verses 7-10

Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer.~~Verse 14

This is one of my favorite Psalms. So much so that I once wrote a song incorporating it into the lyrics.

One thing to notice from this Psalm is that God took the initiative to reveal himself to us. We can see God's "invisible" qualities in creation. Romans 1 tells us that a lot can be learned about God just by looking at the things he has made. And we are accountable for our response. Romans tells us that we are without excuse if we fail to respond favorably to God's revelation of himself. For those of us who do respond, he sends further revelation through his recorded words in the Bible.



Matthew Henry Daily Readings

Psalm 23:5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.

2 Peter 1:3 adds to this idea by stating that "his divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of him who called us to his own glory and excellence." Henrey says, "Such a bountiful benefactor is God to all his people; and it becomes them abundantly to utter his great goodness, as David does, who acknowledges, first, that he had food convenient, a table spread, a cup filled, meat for his hunger, drink for his thirst." Not only that but it was prepared right before him, and right in front of his very enemies! Further, God is such a provider that his "cup overflows." There is enough to share.



Father, it is a bold prayer to ask that my words and my thoughts be acceptable in your sight. The reality is, there are times when neither my words or my thoughts are acceptable. I pray, though, that they would be. My desire, as I read and think upon your words, is that those words would become my words and my thoughts. I pray that, ultimately, nothing would come out of my mouth that would not please you.

Let me celebrate joyfully your provision in my life. But let me also always realize that my cup does, indeed, overflow, and that you have provided more than enough for my family to share with others. We have, over time, been generous with your provisions, and I pray that that will never change, no matter what this economy brings.



Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer.

This means that I need to not allow my meditations to focus on negative things that would cause me depression or anxiety. I'm not saying that we should all "don't worry; be happy." That's a little simplistic. However, what we focus on in our thinking says a lot about where our faith lies, and our faith should always be in our Father who generously provides for all of our needs.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com