What Can I Bring To Him?
2010-01-17

Lord, draw me closer to you today. Give more meaning to the words "draw near," as I attempt to suss out those words for this year. Let the words of Scripture that I read this morning permeate my being and affect change in my life.


A Musician Looks At the Psalms--Don Wyrtzen

Psalm 13

How long, O LORD? Will you forget me forever? How long will you hide your face from me?
How long must I take counsel in my soul and have sorrow in my heart all the day? How long shall my enemy be exalted over me?

But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.
I will sing to the LORD, because he has dealt bountifully with me.
Verses 1-2,5-6

David asks "How long?" four times in this Psalm. This indicates severe distress, and a good portion of this distress was with the Lord. "The friendship between David and his Lord has clouded over."

But David has a great ability (and maturity) to get through such times and end up praising God as he does in Psalm 13. "His dirge of depression became a descant of delight."

"A spiritual metamorphosis took place when David wrapped himself in God's love instead of in his besetting circumstances." That's a good one. Let's read it again. "A spiritual metamorphosis took place when David wrapped himself in God's love instead of in his besetting circumstances."

That's a quote I can take with me wherever I go. Think I'll memorize that one.



Matthew Henry Daily Readings

"Count It All Joy"

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds... James 1:2

This just follows right along with the reading from the Psalms! "We must not sink into a sad and disconsolate frame of mind, which would make us faint under our trials; but we must endeavor to keep our spirits dilated and enlarged, the better to take in a true sense of our case, and with greater advantage to set ourselves to make the best of it. Philosophy may instruct men to be calm under their troubles, but Christianity teaches them to be joyful because such exercises proceed from love and not fury in God."

It is so amazing to me how God can take two completely unrelated sources (well, unrelated except in that they both spring from the Bible) and give me the same message from them on a seemingly "random" day.

Lesson: If I'm wrapping myself in God's love instead of my circumstances, then I can be joyful no matter what is happening in my life at the time.



Daily Readings from the Life of Christ--John MacArthur

"The Magi's Adoration, Part 2"

Matthew 2:11b Then, opening their treasures, they offered him gifts, gold and frankincense and myrrh.

Notice that the gifts that the Magi brought to Jesus were a part of the worship that they were giving him. "Any giving, even though generous, that is done apart from a worshipful relationship to God is empty giving."

Gold has always been considered one of the most valuable of metals, and was used extensively in the construction of the temple in the Old Testament. Here we see Jesus receiving a gift of royalty.

"Frankincense was a fragrant and expensive incense used only on very special occasions." It was believed by some to be the "incense of deity."

Myrrh was also highly prized, but seems to speak more to Jesus's humanity. It was later used in his burial preparation, as well.

So, the three gifts that were given to Jesus: "gold for royalty, frankincense for deity, and myrrh for humanity."

ASK YOURSELF

Rather than looking at our regular disciplines of prayer, worship, and Bible study - or even our acts of service and obedience - as duties and obligations, how might our attitudes change if we saw those as gifts to God? What gifts could you give to Him today, tomorrow?

Great questions! I believe that my attitude would be significantly better if I approach these things more as gifts (or joyful activities that I have a privilege to participate in) rather than duty. One of my biggest faults has been to approach my devotional time as a duty; something I have to do. But what if I don't? Did the world come to a screeching halt? Did I die a horrible death and go to hell? No. Life went on. These times are not "duty." They are not "obligation." But they should be joyful. I get to come before my God every day (or so) and worship him! I get to read his words! And I get to give him gifts of adoration.

What can I give him today? I can give him heartfelt worship as I try to lead others to do the same. How can I possibly expect others to worship him if I am distracted and distressed by circumstances (see the previous two sections of this journal today)?? I must exhibit JOY!! I must show that I am worshiping. A very good friend of mine once told me, "Worship God, and others will follow." Yes. That is the gift I give today.

My gift tomorrow, and the days following, is to live my daily, workplace life with joy and passion, giving praise to him throughout the day. I can give him the gift of being Christlike to all that I meet, no matter what kind of stress I am under.



Dear Awesome God! You have shown me some great stuff today! As I go to worship you with our friends and Family, I pray that my joy be visible. Let me worship you without distraction. And let others follow along as I worship.

As I work this coming week, let joy be the thing that people see in me. I don't want to let circumstances get in the way of my devotion and love for you. Let me, indeed, wrap myself in your love instead of my surroundings.

Praise your holy name!!



Give him the gift of worship today. Give him the gift of yourself the rest of the week.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com