Made Alive
2010-01-03

I'm a bit behind this morning, because of the nice weekend we spent away from home. It was all worth it, though. Christi and I had a very nice, relaxing time and it was somewhat rejuvenating. Plus we saw a couple of pretty good movies. Anyway...getting ready for worship, now.


All Scripture quotes, unless otherwise indicated, are from the English Standard Version.


Psalm for today: Psalm 1:3. He is like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither. In all that he does, he prospers.

This verse tells us three things about this tree, which is a simile for the righteous person. First, it is planted. Second, it is productive. And third, it is prosperous. Verse 4 goes on to describe the person who throws his life away as "chaff." This is the part of a wheat grain that is useless and blown away by the wind.

(From A Musician Looks At the Psalms by Don Wyrtzen)



Matthew Henry Daily Readings
"The Spring of Motion"
Acts 17:28 For "In him we live and move and have our being."

"Learn therefore, that God is not only the author of all being, but the fountain of life and spring of motion. Dead matter would be forever dead if he did not quicken it. And this makes it credible to us that God should raise the dead. That power which brought such a world as this out of confusion, emptiness, and darkness, at the beginning of time, can, at the end of time, bring our vile bodies out of the grave, though it is 'a land of gloom like thick darkness, like deep shadow without any order' (Job 10:22), and can make them glorious bodies."

And remember...we were dead in sin before God quickened us to make us alive!



Father, I thank you and praise you that you made me alive. I was dead in sin and trespasses when you chose me, and made me alive. A dead person cannot do anything for himself. It is all you, and all because of you! You are the fountain of life within me, my Lord, and I pray that throughout the rest of my brief life on earth, your fountain will flow liberally from within me.

Let me be like that tree. Let me be the righteous person who, like a tree, is planted by the sustaining nourishment of your spiritual water, your Living Water! Let me be productive and prosperous as you make me able.

I pray for our worship this morning, that it will be alive and acceptable in your sight. Let our songs of praise rise up to you like sweet incense. Let our lives by changed by meeting with each other and with you!



Grace and peace, friends!


0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com