Confidence
2010-01-02

Having a great weekend, so far. The health goals begin in earnest Monday morning. (We always wait until the weekend is over...Hah.) But my spiritual goals can't wait for a weekend to be over. They have started already. I feel confident that God is going to do something awesomely amazing in our lives this year.


I forgot to add that all Scripture quotations, unless otherwise indicated, will be from the English Standard Version of the Bible.


Beginning with a Psalm for today: Psalm 1:2. ...but his delight is in the law of the LORD, and on his law he meditates day and night.

Our minds are very important in our quest for happiness, joy, and meaning. Paul tells us in Romans 12:2 that we are to be transformed by the renewing of our minds. How do we accomplish this? By delighting in God's law. "I must revel in the glory of biblical truth so that it shapes my thinking and changes my life."

I struggle with feelings of inadequacy at times. I don't feel like I'm "good enough." But I also know in my heart that, when I am weak, my God is strong. It is he who gives me strength.

I must pray more honestly. As I do this, "my life will burst forth with song." I most move beyond a "cognitive perception" of God's words and incorporate them into my "total personality." I must, as the Psalmist declares, delight in God's words and meditate on them constantly.

(From A Musician Looks At the Psalms by Don Wyrtzen)



Matthew Henry Daily Readings

Psalm 95:3 For the LORD is a great God, and a great King above all gods.

The beauty that we see in the visible world, the sky and seas, the stars, etc., can only be a fraction of the beauty that must be found in our God. "How transcendent then must the beauty of the Creator be!"

"...from what we see of heaven and earth we may easily enough infer the eternal power and Godhead of the great Creator, and may furnish ourselves with abundant matter for his praises."

I have experienced this as I look at the stars at night. In the rare instances when I am far enough away from the city lights to actually see a multitude of lights in the sky, I am amazed at it all. The wonder of creation causes me to simply stare in awe. There are no words to describe the feeling. I can simply stand and say, "Wow."

Likewise, when I stood and looked into the abyss that is the Grand Canyon last year, I was overwhelmed. I lifted my camera to take pictures, and, for a moment was unable to even do that. How? How can I photograph something so expansive and beautiful? Where do I begin?

Consider then, the vastness of God. He can hold the planet that contains the Grand Canyon on the tip of his finger. We sit in contemplation of skies and oceans...how can we not be completely overwhelmed by our God? I can only surmise that it is because we cannot "see" him.

Well, I worship that which I cannot "see." I praise the Creator of skies and oceans and Grand Canyons. I praise him who holds the universe in the palm of his hand. I worship God Almighty, and he overwhelms me.



Daily Readings From the Life of Christ

John 1:1-2 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God.

John restates in verse 2 that Christ was present "in the beginning," when everything was created. There is also implied a very intimate fellowship with God the Father.

Jesus's deity and equality with God the Father "is a truth of the Christian faith that can't be compromised." In John's second epistle, he warns against receiving anyone into our homes that preaches a different gospel. He tells us to not even greet them.

Paul, in Galatians 1:7-9 warns against those who preach a different Gospel. Paul includes himself in this warning by saying that even if he should come to them with preaching that denied the truth of the real gospel, he was to be accursed!

"We must not be confused about the deity of Christ, because the Bible teaches it clearly and unmistakably. Jesus is the eternally preexistent Word, who has always enjoyed full communion and divine life with the Father, and is Himself God."

"Are you ever in danger of limiting the power, rule, sovereignty and, yes, even the goodness of God? Though your belief and profession may be biblically sound and solid, does your daily interaction with life's circumstances reveal a complete trust in God's preeminence?" Tough questions. First, I don't think I can limit the power, rule, sovereignty, and goodness of God. I certainly cannot limit his power and sovereignty. However, I can, I believe, limit the effects of his goodness in my life. And that, perhaps, by my answer to the second question. My daily interaction with life's circumstances does not always indicate complete trust in God. In fact, I was recently challenged by a friend to that very fact. (See previous entry.) That is part of my spiritual goal for 2010.
By seeking the face of God daily, I purpose to display this confidence in my life. My actions and attitudes will be colored by the flavor of my meditations.



Father, may the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in your sight. Let my confidence in you grow this year, and let it be visible from the outside. I don't want to be an influence on others. I want you to be an influence on others as my trust in you becomes visible.

I worship you, Lord, even though I cannot physically see you. I have seen enough in this world to know that you are. I believed that you exist before I saw the wondrous beauty of your creation. That simply solidifies it in my mind and spirit.

I pray that my mind will be renewed this year, as I meditate on your words. Let me delight in your words, day and night.



Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com