New Beginnings
2010-01-01

Welcome to 2010. Happy New Year.

Once again, my goals for 2010 are:

1. Lose a lot of weight/live healthier. Be able to fit in the rides at Six Flags by summer, and be down to my goal weight by January 1 of 2011.

2. Be much more consistent and diligent about seeking the face of God. My wonderful wife reminded me that it's not just about "having a devotional" every day. There's a danger of doing the thing just to be doing the thing. Not much use for that. But to truly seek the face of God during this year. That will make 2010 better, by itself.

That's it. No other goals for this year. In fact, number 2 should be number 1, but they aren't in order of importance. If I do number 2, everything else in my life will fall in place. I'm very confident about that.



Psalms. Back to the beginning. Psalm 1:1. "Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked, nor stands in the way of sinners., nor sits in the seat of scoffers;"

There are many people in our lives who can influence us. If we are not cautious, we will walk, then stand, and then "ultimately sit with people who couldn't care less about God." If we choose friends from a "secular environment," our personal values will be in danger of shifting. We must keep our motives pure. "I don't want to become a clone of someone I admire."

"Lord, help me not to be brainwashed by materialistic society, but give me a deep sense of personal joy in knowing You."

(From A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen)



Matthew Henry on Genesis 1:1, "In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth."

"The first verse of the Bible gives us a surer and better, a more satisfying and useful, knowledge of the origin of the universe, than all the volumes of the philosophers. The lively faith of humble Christians understands this matter better than the elevated fancy of the greatest wits." At this point, Henry references Hebrews 11:3, which says, "By faith we understand that the universe was created by the word of God, so that what is seen was not made out of things that are visible." Regarding the understanding that the Bible gives us, he makes reference to Psalm 119:130, which says, "The unfolding of your words gives light; it imparts understanding to the simple."



John 1:1-2

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God.

The concept of "logos" already had significance to the Jewish and Greek readers of John's day. "Greek philosophers defined it as the abstract principle of order and reason in the universe." Even ordinary people understood the concept as "the source of wisdom."

John presents Jesus as "the embodiment of the logos concept...God, the true logos, became a man, Jesus Christ."

However, to the Jewish readers, what John was presenting was something more than that. Jesus is shown as the incarnation of divine power, and as a coninuation of the concept of the "word of the Lord" from the Old Testament.

"If you were to describe how Jesus proves His Word true in your own life, what ideas would come most quickly to mind?"

Wow. That's a tough question. How does Jesus prove His Word true in my life? "Prove" is such an empirical word. But what comes to my mind most quickly is the idea of community. The Church is a community of believers, united by common faith in Jesus Christ. We are the body of Christ. And as his body, we minister to each other in ways that those without faith cannot comprehend. To me, Jesus proves the truth of His Word through this community. Every Sunday morning when I meet with other believers, I am strengthened. I am comforted. I am encouraged. Last Sunday morning, I was deep in depression. I was in a funk over something that happened earlier in the morning; something that had caused me to lose hope. Two brothers refused to let me stay in that state of mind. They just walked up to me (I was sitting in a chair on the front row of seats), laid their hands on my shoulders and began to pray. They did not ask my permission, they just did it. I received such comfort and encouragement from this action that I cannot even begin to express in words! It changed my day. Similarly, this past Tuesday night at work, a friend admonished me about something. Something was wrong with me, not sure what, but every little thing was annoying me. Finally, this friend asked me, "Are you okay?" Obviously, I wasn't, and I honestly expressed that. Friend said, "You know I love you, right?" I thought, "Uhoh...here it comes." But he lovingly corrected me. And, by the grace of God, I received that correction, and the rest of my night was fine. I won't say I didn't get annoyed by anything else, but I was able to absorb it more and not let it be so visible in my countenance.

This is how Jesus proves His Word true to me.

(Commentary from Daily Readings from the Life of Christ, by John MacArthur)



Father, it's a new year. We place great significance on that fact down here. Possibly too much so. However, it is seen as a time of new beginning, and I like that. First, I would like to copy the prayer above regarding the beginning of Psalms. "Lord, help me not to be brainwashed by materialistic society, but give me a deep sense of personal joy in knowing You." I agree with this and share this desire. One of my goals for 2010 is to gain this deep sense of joy.

Inspired by an author that I sort of know, I look for words for the year that you would give me as a point of reference for the year. The words that I am hearing for 2010 are "draw near." That is my goal for the year, to draw near to you. It sounds so simplistic, but I feel that, in 2009 (and possibly '08 as well) I "drew away" from you. Not purposefully, mind you. I never purposed in my spirit to get farther away from you. Nevertheless, I think it happened. So, in 2010, I will draw near. I will!

Give me light by opening up your Word during this coming year. I am simple. Impart wisdom to me through the unfolding of your words.

I praise you for the way you prove your words to be true in my life. I thank you so much for the dear friends in my life who invade my space with prayer and admonition. They don't need my permission. By virtue of the fact that we are together in Christ, permission is not necessary. I am very grateful for these friends, and pray that this type of community continues in 2010.

I pray that Wings of Freedom Church will grow, yes, in number, but moreso in maturity. Let us grow together as believers and as brothers and sisters.

I pray that this year will be better and see improvement in Stephanie, both physically, and behaviorally. I pray that this year will see her succeed in school. I pray for giant leaps.

May everyone that I know who has been experience trials during the past few months have a time of rest and comfort soon. Not that we might get lazy and presumptuous, but that we might rest in you for a time. Let our spirits rest and heal.



I pray for a wonderful year for all of you in 2010.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com