'Tis Grace Will Lead Me Home
2009-12-29

These holiday weeks play havoc on my schedule. I enjoy the extra sleep, but some days I don't get up early enough and wind up missing my devotional time.

Two "resolutions" for 2010. I normally avoid those...

1. Lose lots of weight. I want to be down to my goal by this time next year. And I want to be able to ride the rides at Six Flags by summer.

2. Somehow find a way to seek the face of God every day. Not every other day or three times a week. Every. Single. Day.

We'll see how long I can make it on that.



My Psalm for today is: Psalm 148. This psalm is simply full of praise. Almost every verse commands something or someone to praise God. A fitting psalm to help usher out a year that has been filled with struggles.


Today, in Tabletalk, we read the very last words that the apostle Paul ever penned (at least that we have recorded). "The Lord be with your spirit. Grace be with you." From the magazine: "The very last words we have from the apostle's pen make up a prayer that the Lord's grace would be with Timothy and, indeed, with all Christians. From the moment of conversion to our dying breaths, we are absolutely dependant on the grace of God to justify us and preserve us in salvation unto our final reward."


Father, your grace is amazing. I know I say that a lot. But John Newton got it perfect when he wrote "Amazing Grace." That grace that justifies us also preserves us through all of our lives on this earth. And then, ultimately, that grace will "lead me home." I can't wait for that day, Lord. Well, I guess I can, and I guess I will. But I long for it it dearly and deeply. I praise you for your grace and all of the manifestations that I have seen of it over the years.

I want 2010 to be a year that exemplifies Psalm 148. With two more days left in 2009, I'm ready to write it off. Put it in the books and leave it far behind. I want 2010 to be a year of PRAISE! Let me praise you constantly throughout this next year. Even if it winds up being no better than 2009. Even if it winds up being worse. Let my countenance never fall from looking at you. Let my spirit be elevated to a state of praise every day.



It's snowing again, here. How weird is that? Snow, twice in a week, in north-central Texas. I pray that we don't any transportation issues. I have to get to work tonight, and our drivers need to make deliveries in the morning.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com