Living In the Face of Death
2009-12-26

Just after 9am, the day after Christmas. Currently, it is peaceful in our house. Yesterday was mostly good after a small blowup in the morning. Interesting words we use to describe these events..."meltdown"..."blowup"...


Psalm for today: Psalm 145. Basically, a Psalm of praise to the Lord. "God is magnificent; he can never be praised enough. There are no boundaries to his greatness."~~verse 3. The psalmist also declares that he will keep up the praises "from now to eternity."

From Calvin: "Not only does God, with fatherly indulgence and clemency, forgive sin, but is good to all without discrimination, as he makes his sun to rise upon the good and upon the wicked (Matt. 5:45). Forgiveness of sin is a treasure from which the wicked are excluded, but their sin and depravity do not prevent God from showering down his goodness upon them, which they appropriate without being at all sensible of it. Meanwhile believers, and they only, know what it is to enjoy a reconciled God, as elsewhere it is said: 'Those who look to him are radiant; their faces are never covered with shame. Taste and see that the Lord is good" (Ps. 34:5,8)."

And that, my friends, is one of my favorite verses in all of Scripture.



In the weekend reading from Tabletalk, death is discussed.

"In the face of death, what is it that a Christian needs to know so that we don't live in despair or without hope? We need to know that we are not our own, that we belong to Christ, who has purchased us with His own blood. Knowing this enables us to live in light of the fact that when we die, that one who conquered death and the grave, did so for us.

"Christ has paid for my sins (not some of them, but all of them), so that on the day of judgment, I need not fear the wrath of God. Christ was faithful, so that when I am not, God will look upon Christ's obedience, not my disobedience. Christ has redeemed us from the Devil, so that I don't fear those things that supposedly come about through the wiles of Satan, when instead, whatever happens comes about through the power of Christ in the providence of God. Because of Christ's work as redeemer, I know that whatever happens to me--whether I live or die--comes about as God's means of saving me from my sins, finally bringing me into His presence."

Wow! What amazingly wonderful words! These are words of great comfort and encouragement. We can live confidently in the present day, in the presence of God, even in the face of death (which we all face, but some much more closer than others). Our eternal destiny is tied to Jesus Christ's victory over sin, death, and the grave!

In America, we hate death. We do everything possible to delay it and hide from it. But we cannot overcome it. But we can overcome the fear of death and live in victory, because there is One who has overcome death!

Hallelujah!



Oh, Holy God, I am so wonderfully amazed sometimes at your providence. Your care and support of us is awesome! I am encouraged as I read the words of the writer who wrote that article in Tabletalk. Not only encouraged for myself, but for friends who have loved ones who face death. If only we could all look at death in that way. It is, after all, merely a transition for those of us who believe in you. Well, I guess it's a transition for everyone, but for us who believe in Christ, it is a transition from an imperfect world, complete with pain and suffering, to a perfect world, where there will be no tears, no pain, and no suffering ever again for all eternity. Let that be my attitude from now on, Lord. Let me live in the face of death. Let me be a light to all around me. Let depression and sadness never cross my countenance again.

I desire, like the psalmist, to praise you and lift you high from now through all eternity. Would that only praise could pass through my lips for the rest of my life. I thank you for your goodness, which you show to all people, even those who do not acknowledge you. I thank you for the forgiveness of sins that you have provided for us who do believe. You are glorious and magnificent, Father! Let me praise your holy name forever!



Remember the words of Psalm 34:8. "O taste and see, that the Lord is good!"

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com