Are Our Ears Itchy?
2009-12-20

Last week was a pretty good week. There were several circumstances that kept me from updating my devotional journal. I won't go into it, but they weren't bad ones. Stephanie is doing well. We had a nice day yesterday with Rachel and Justin as well. Only five more days until Christmas. Looks like it will be a good one, after all.


My Psalm for today is: Psalm 139. This is one of my favorite Psalms. In it, the Psalmist declares the inescapable presence of God in every area, every corner of our lives. God is present everywhere; there is nowhere we can run where he will not be. To those of us who love him, that is the greatest comfort we could ever desire. To those who hate him, it is a curse, for they cannot escape his eye.

The Psalmist also describes the wonder of our creation. We are, as he says, "fearfully and wonderfully made." God knows everything there is to know about us because he formed us. He knitted us together in our mothers' wombs. He planned our lives before we were born. That's a little unnerving, because it's hard to believe that God planned some of the stuff we've been through and suffered, isn't it?

Some words from Calvin: "We are ashamed to let men know and witness our delinquincies; but we are as indifferent to what God may think of us, as if our sins were covered and veiled from his inspection." Isn't this the truth?? I remember days when I would hide from men, so they could not see what I was doing. Yet God could see, and for some reason, that didn't bother me at all! This is so very wrong. We should be more concerned about what God sees and thinks of us than what any man sees or thinks!

Finally, the Psalmist casts himself under the interrogation of God, asking God to search him and see if there is any offensive way in him. Again, from Calvin: "While he denies that his heart was double or insincere, he does not profess exemption from all sin, but only that he was not devoted to wickedness." David was a devoted worshipper of God, and desired that all men should be the same.



The weekend reading in Tabletalk Magazine is called "Easy Preaching for Itchy Ears." Paul has warned Timothy about remaining true to scripture in his preaching. The article speaks of the age in which we live today. "We live in an age when being politically correct is more important than being truthful." This is very true. In fact, there are many who deny that there is even "truth" at all. "The minister who changes the message from God to fit the desires of the world around him aids in the destruction of lives, families, and civilizations."

We all play a role in this drama. Do we sit in judgment of our preachers when they preach the pure word of God? Do we demand that they coddle us and make us feel warm and fuzzy? Do we ask them to only preach about salvation, thereby turning our churches into the most impotent form every imagined, the "seeker church?" (How can there be a "seeker church" when, according to God, there is no one who is seeking??) Or do we, led by the Holy Spirit, and living in faith by grace, demand that our preachers preach the true word of God, no matter how much it hurts? It's not entertaining. It doesn't make us feel good, sometimes. But it is what makes us strong in the Lord.

What if the oncologist changed his message when he had to deliver bad news to us? Would we not be in greater danger of physical death? Perhpas our hospitals should be encouraged to never tell anyone that they are sick. This is exactly what our modern preachers are being encouraged to do.



Father, I pray that we, as your Church, would always demand the truth from our preachers. Let us not desire to have our ears tickled with false gospels or half-truths, which are really no truths at all. Give our pastors strenght in their ministries. Strength to only speak the truth. Strength to refuse to water down the gospel, regardless of the consequences. I pray today, Father, that you would bring down any "church" that professes to preach the gospel when it truly does not. Make them see the truth. Make them see the danger that they are creating by changing your message.

I praise you, Lord, that I am, as the Psalmist said, fearfully and wonderfully made. I look at my hands and fingers sometimes, and I just wonder at them. The intricacies that you have created in the human body are amazing. It is beyond my comprehension how anyone could, for a second, believe that we are an accident of evolution.

I praise you that you are everywhere. I, for one, am glad that I cannot hide from you. I am glad that there is nowhere that I can run from you. It is a great comfort to me to know that you know everything I'm going to say, even before I say it. Before it even enters my thought process, you know it. Sometimes I wish you would stop some of those words before they get out of my mouth. I pray for grace in my life, Lord. I know I have it. Even in abundance. But I pray to let it reign in my daily life.

Let the next week be a truly wonderful week, Father. I praise you that Stephanie is home with us and doing well. I pray that this continues through the Christmas week and on into next year. Let 2010 be a banner year for us, Lord!

I pray for Justin right now, Lord. He has a fever this morning. I pray for healing for his body.

Let us worship you this morning, Lord, in spirit and in truth, and let us walk in faith.



Grace and peace, friends.


1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com