Struggle
2009-12-12

I have to confess I haven't felt very spiritual this week. I know it's wrong. But "it is what it is." I've wasted time this week drowning in my own depression when I should have been seeking the face of God. But that's all the time I'm going to spend on what should have been or could have been. I'm moving forward, and today, I AM seeking the face of the almighty as I seek answers and comfort in our affliction.


Starting with the Psalms.

Commentary on Psalm 122 by Eugene Peterson: "Worship doesn't satisfy our hunger for God; it intensifies our hunger. It overflows the Sunday-morning hour and permeates the days of the week. The need is expressed in a desire for peace and security. Our everyday needs are changed by the act of worship. We're no longer living from hand to mouth, scrambling through the human rat race to make out the best we can. Our basic needs for peace and security suddenly become worthy of the dignity of creatures who are made in the image of God. We find those needs met not in a gated community on the golf course but within the gates of the goodness of God."

My Psalm for today is Psalm 133. The Psalmist praises unity among God's people.

From Calvin: "A holy unity has not only a sweet savour before God, but is productive of good effects, as the dew moistens the earth and supplies it with sap and freshness. Let us then, as much as lies in us, study to walk in brotherly love, that we may secure the divine blessing. Let us even stretch out our arms to those who differ from us, desiring to bid them welcome if they will but return to the unity of the faith."



Father, I, too, pray for unity among the people of God. It is, indeed, marvelous when your people dwell together in peace and unity. However, we cannot sacrifice truth for unity. We cannot sacrifice biblical doctrine for peace. Unity is desirable, but not at the expense of truth. Let us be true first, then unified, especially when we disagree on non-essential things. Let the worlds see us in peace and loving each other.

I pray for Stephanie, this morning, Father. I pray for healing for her mind, as well as for the things that are not working properly in her body. You are the great physician. You hold us all in the palm of your hand, and have the ability to heal completely. Let Stephanie know today how much you love her and care for her. Give Christi and me encouragement and comfort as we struggle with our emotions. We aren't doing real well through all this, and you are our strong tower to which we can run and be safe. Let us never forget that.



God is, indeed, our Strong Tower. We do not deserve the care and refuge that he gives us, but he does, nevertheless. We praise him for this!

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com