We Are One In the Bond of Love
2009-12-06

Yesterday was terrifying. One of the worst ever. The end result...Steph is going into an outpatient program at Springwood hospital, starting Monday morning. Meds will be re-evaluated. Educational needs will be discussed, and we will make them give us written recommendations for Keller ISD.

We are going to our meeting with Wings of Freedom this morning, but I'm not leading worship today. I called the pastor last night from the ER in Bedford, because, frankly, we honestly didn't know where we would be this morning. But we are going, and Steph is going with us. I can think of no better place to be after a day like that than in the midst of God's people.

And I'm spending time in his word right now.



My Psalm for today is Psalm 119:136-158.

He begins with sadness that people don't observe God's commands. The next section describes how God's word is good for helping us live life to the fullest. He cries out to God for help from his enemies. Then he finishes like he started, loathing those he calls "quitters."

From Calvin: "How great in our day is the frenzy of the world in despising God and neglecting his doctrine? A few, no doubt, are to be found who with the mouth profess their willingness to receive it, but scarcely one in ten proves the sincerity of his profession by his life."

The amazing this is that the above words were written in the 16th century.



In Holiness Day by Day, the author speaks of the ultimate authority of God's word. We need to be sure of our beliefs regarding scripture, because, if the Bible "is not the complete authoritative Word of God, then there is no absolute moral truth, and we are left to our own opinions." We must be sure when we think about biblical application to our lives, that we are thinking about God's truth, not our opinions.

The Bible affirms itself as the word of God in 2 Timothy 3:16, as well as in 2 Peter 1:21.

We will never fully understand how the Holy Spirit inspired men to write God's word, but the Bible is clear that it did happen. Perhaps we need to pray for God to remove doubts about the inspiration of his word in our hearts. We need a "settled conviction that the Bible is indeed God's Word, that it is complete and authoritative, and that it is absolute truth."



Father, I thank you for your word, and I do believe that it is absolute truth. I don't believe in moral relativism. I don't believe that truth is different for everybody. I do believe that there are matters that are not specifically addressed in your word, in which case, we must make up our own minds, but I make up my mind and heart based on what your word says about other areas. I want to be consistent as possible in my beliefs.

Father, I pray for even more love for your words. Help me meditate more on them throughout my days and nights, just like the Psalmist. I want to be like that tree, planted by streams of water, whose leaf never withers. I want to be successful in YOUR eyes, not so much in man's eyes.

I thank you for your people. I pray that as we gather with other believers this morning that we will experience the love of your people and love in return. There is no better place to be in times of hurt than in the embrace of your people. We love each other in a way that the world cannot understand.

I pray for this coming week. I pray for some positive results from Springwood hospital. I pray for peace and hope, and I confess that I was losing hope yesterday. I confess that, at one point yesterday, I was feeling as though you had turned your back on us. I do not believe that to be true, though, as you have promised that you would never do that.

Your grace is sufficient for all things.

Thank you.



In times of pain and tragedy, we must support and love each other. More and more, I am learning this. The body of Christ is just that...a body. We are not islands, wandering around in individual existences. We are a body. We affect each other. We influence each other. What happens to one of us happens to the rest of us.

(The brain is a funny thing....the next thing that popped into my head was "We are Borg.")

Anyway...We love our family at Wings of Freedom very much and will be with them shortly.

Grace and peace, friends.

Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated.



2 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com