My Failures Do Not Frustrate A Sovereign God!
2009-12-01

Still working on those things I wrote about yesterday. Hah. As if in only one day, I would have it all worked out, right? But, seriously, the fact that I can even remember what yesterday's devotional was about is a great step in the right direction.

What am I working on? Not being quarrelsome. Being able to correct people gently when correction is necessary. Plus keeping God's word right in the front of my brain all the time. Which is more of a challenge than it should be for me.

In other news, Steph apparently had a really good day today. There was one close call when she wanted to go to lunch early, but she says she "got out of it." That's good news.

So on to the devotional.



My Psalm for today is Psalm 119:115-127.

This passage seems to focus on the Psalmist taking God's side against "evildoers." He stands up for justice and right, and rejoices when God takes down the "wicked." Taken in context, "wicked" here, in my opinion, speaks of people who thoughtlessly take advantage of others, especially those who are weak.

I especially like verse 120, which seems to say that the writer literally trembles in awe over God's word, leaving him completely speechless.

From Calvin: "As David saw how great a hindrance the ungodly are to us, he banishes them to a distance from him; or rather, he testifies that he will beware of entangling himself in their society. If we would hold on in the way of the Lord without stumbling, we must endeavor, above all things, to keep at a greatest possible distance from worldly and wicked men, not in regard to distance of place, but in respect of intercourse and conversation."

In my own words, this means that our most intimate relationships must be with other believers. We do not "shun" those who do not believe as we do. How else could we ever pursuade them to love Christ? But our closest friendships should be those of like mind to us.



Is God frustrated by our failures? That's a very good question. How do our failures figure into God's sovereignty? In Holiness Day by Day, the author says, "In His infinite wisdom, God's sovereign plan includes even our sins." This is probably one of the most difficult areas of God's sovereignty to swallow.

A very interesting story ensues. When Mordecai went to Queen Esther to ask her to intercede on behalf of their people, she didn't want to, because if she entered the king's presence uninvited, it could mean her death. Mordecai told her that if she chose not to speak up, that God would bring deliverance from somewhere else. "His options for bringing about deliverance for the Jews were as infinite as His wisdom and power. He literally did not need Esther's cooperation." That is deep. God does use us to bring about his sovereign purpose. But he doesn't really need us, and if I don't do what I'm supposed to, someone else will.

This, folks, is why I absolutely DETEST pleas from the pulpit for evangelism that try to guilt people into "witnessing" by saying that if you don't share the gospel with "person X," they could DIE AND GO TO HELL!!!!! To steal a phrase from across the pond, BOLLOCKS!! If, in God's sovereignty, "person X" is chosed and destined for salvation, and I fail to share the good news of Christ with him, someone else will do it. God will see to that.

Our salvation is not, and never has been, in the hands of sinful humans! It is solely in the hands of the almighty, sovereign God of the universe!

So there.

God is sovereign, and cannot be frustrated by our failure to act, or by any actions on our part. However, it would do us well to remember that he most certainly does hold us responsible for our actions.



Father, I praise you that my salvation was never in my hands, or in the hands of any other imperfect human being. It was alwasy in your hands. You chose me, before the foundations of the earth, and you made sure that it would happen. I praise you for your sovereign ways. You are all powerful, and your will will be accomplished, no matter what. As our pastor shared with us last Sunday, you are going to win, and it is much easier on us if we go along with you.

I pray that you help me stay on the path that you have chosen for me. I know that, many times in my life, I have strayed from that path. You have always guided me back to it, sometimes gently, sometimes not so gently. I praise you for all of those times, even the "ungentle" ones. Do whatever it takes to keep me following you, Father.

I thank you that you have always had someone in my life as a close friend that was a true believer, and one who shared beliefs with me. All the years that I have worked where I work, there has always been someone there that I can be close to who is a believer and who can challenge me. I praise you for that.

Father, I thank you that Stephanie had a good day today. I pray that tomorrow will be good, as well. I pray for my night ahead at work, and ask that everything go smoothly. Let me please you in everything that I do, and, as I work, let me work as though I work for you. Let me be more concerned with pleasing you than with pleasing man.

Lord, in this time of Christmas, I pray for people who are suffering. I pray that you help us find a way to share your blessings with others around us. Let this Christmas be a joyous time for our family and friends. And help us remember that what we are attempting to commemorate (albeit at totally the wrong time of year) is the birth of our Savior. So let us have a mind of thanksgiving and sharing throughout this season.



It's December, and with December comes many people's favorite time of year. Christmas is coming. I pray that everyone can share in the joy of remembering Christ's birth during this month.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com