Sweeter Than Honey
2009-11-29

The lights have flickered several times this morning. Hopefully, I can get an entry in before they do it again. Knocks my 'puter off every time. Rather annoying.


My Psalm for today is Psalm 119:96-104.

As the Psalmist continues to extol the virtures of God's word, he makes a rather bold statement, declaring that he is smarter than even his own teachers because he meditates on God's word. Heh. I wonder how his teachers felt about that...

From Calvin: "David was so powerfully attracted by the sweetness of the Divine Law, as to have no desire after any other delight. It is possible that a man may be affected with reverence towards the Law of God, but no one will cheerfully follow it, save he who has tasted this sweetness. God requires from us no slavish service: he will have us come to him cheerfully, and this is the very reason why the prophet commends the sweetness of God's word so often in this psalm."



In Holiness Day by Day, the author writes of Martin Luther and his journey to faith. At one point Luther thought that "the righteousness of God" spoken of in Romans 3:21 was speaking of the righteousness that God required of us. As Luther became more and more aware that he could not possibly measure up to God's standard, he became increasingly angry, to the point that he is quoted as saying, "Love God? I hate him." (This is recorded in Bainton's biography of Luther, Here I Stand.) But finally, Luther realized that the verse was speaking of the righteousness that God provided for us!

God does, in fact require righteousness. But he also provides it. He does not require anything from us which he has not already given us.

"This righteousness from God, then, is nothing less than the perfect righteousness of Jesus Christ, who, through His sinless life and His death in obedience to the Father's will, perfectly fulfilled the Law of God in both its precepts and its penalty." It embraces the full work of Christ. In this work, Christ "perfectly obeyed God's law, satisfied God's justice, exhausted God's wrath, removed our sins from God's presence, redeemed us from God's curse, and reconciled us to our Creator."

Hallelujah!



Father, the above just almost causes me to burst into song this morning, praising you for your glorious provision and work in Jesus Christ. In what state would I be were it not for Jesus? I would still be dead in my sins. Now, I am alive and able to worship and serve you, even in my imperfect state. I look forward to that day when we will all be made perfect in you! But until then, I will serve you and worship you imperfectly, and you will see it perfectly through the blood of Christ which has removed our sins from us.

Father, I, too, see your word as sweeter than honey. I delight in reading your scriptures and pondering the words therein. Let that delight flow out of my life into my world around me. Let it affect everything I do. Let it color my attitudes about everything.

I pray for this week ahead, Lord. Stephanie starts back to school tomorrow, after a week off. The previous week was very rocky. I pray for a much smoother week. I also pray for wisdom as her mother and I work to get the best kind of environment for her, as well as working with doctors to get more information on her conditions, both physical and mental/emotional.

I pray for Rachel and Justin as they return to their daily schedules. Father, increase their love for each other each day as they grow closer together. Draw them closer to you, as well.



Hoping for a wonderful time of worship this morning, as Wings of Freedom Church meets. I pray that all believers who meet for worship this morning will lift up true praise to the God of our salvation! And for those who, for whatever reason, cannot meet with other believers, may they have an intimate time with God this morning, as well.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com