God's Word Is Dependable
2009-11-28

It continues to be a nice holiday weekend. Christmas music is starting to play on the radio. The house is decorated (we still have to put ornaments on the tree, and we haven't bought a dated ornament for this year, yet). And this week, it will begin to get a little cooler in Texas and maybe try to feel a little more like winter. They're even predicting snow flurries next Saturday! O.o And I supposed we will start singing some Christmas music at our church meetings, probably next Sunday.


My Psalm for today is Psalm 119:91-95.

The Psalmist continues declare the dependability and worth of God's Word in his life. He even goes so far as to say that it saved his life.

Calvin comments: "By faith, it is true, we perceive that the continued existence of the world is owing to the fiat of God; but all who have the smallest pretensions to understanding are led to the same conclusion, from the manifest and undoubted proofs of this truth, which every where meet their eye. Let it then be thoroughly impressed upon our minds, that all things are so governed and maintained by the secret operation of God, as that their continuing in the same state is owing to their obeying his commandment or word. We must always remember the point that the prophet aims at; which is, that God's faithfulness, which shines forth in his external works, may gradually conduct us higher, until we attain such a persuasion of the truth of the heavenly doctrine as is entirely free from doubt."



Father, I pray that I will always have a love for your words and that the Bible will always hold a prominent place in my life. May your faithfulness continue to draw me higher towards you, until my spirit is completely free from doubt.

I pray for a good morning of worship tomorrow as Wings of Freedom Church meets again. I pray that there will be testimonies of your faithfulness as we gather together to lift up your name.

I also pray for Stephanie, as school starts back up on Monday. I pray that this next week will be better than the week before the break. I pray that you help Christi and I continue in the process to get more help for her and for us.



Every year, I hope to re-create the "magic" of Christmas that I used to feel as a child. Maybe this year...

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com